6 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100
Strong data Pairwise comparison
Compare 3+ cards →
AXIS Magnus vs HSBC Premier
Side-by-side comparison of the Axis Bank Magnus and the HSBC India Premier. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
Pick Premier for spending abroad.
Magnus costs ₹7,500 less a year but waives only at ₹25,00,000 spend, Premier at Not offered.
Head-to-head
- Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie. ₹7,500/yr apart · waiver gates differMagnus ₹12,500 Waivable at ₹25,00,000 spendPremier ₹20,000 Annual-fee waiver not offered
- Forex markup Forex markup outcome: Premier wins. Premier saves ~₹1,010 per ₹1L abroadMagnus 2%Premier 0.99%
- Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: tie. Magnus Unlimited Conditional · Domestic: Unlimited · requires ₹50,000 spend in the previous 3 calendar monthsPremier Unlimited
- Rewards Rewards outcome: insufficient data to compare. conservative base valueMagnus ~1.2%Premier Not safely INR-comparable
Reward earning explained
3 pts / ₹100 · Up to 36 pts / ₹100 on Hsbc Travel With Points Hotels
Strong dataExample usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- Magnus: ~₹600/month at base rate
- HSBC Premier: Base earn not clearly specified
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
All fields
| Field | Magnus Axis Bank | Premier HSBC India |
|---|---|---|
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits spend-gated on some cards — see caveats | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| International lounge visits | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup 2% vs 0.99% | 2% | 0.99% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee ₹12,500 vs ₹20,000 | ₹12,500 | ₹20,000 |
| Annual-fee waiver ₹25,00,000 vs Not offered | ₹25,00,000 | Not offered |
| Interest-free period Only available for Magnus | Up to 50 days | Not specified |
| Monthly interest rate Only available for HSBC Premier | Not specified | 2.99% / month |
| Late-payment charge Only available for Magnus | ₹500–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance | Not specified |
| Fuel benefit 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap · Fuel rewards excluded vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap · Fuel rewards excluded | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions |
| Rewards | ||
| Points per ₹100 6 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 vs 3 pts / ₹100 | 6 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 | 3 pts / ₹100 |
| Conservative base value ~1.2% vs Not safely INR-comparable | ~1.2% | Not safely INR-comparable |
| Earn ceiling Not stated vs 18,000 points per month — shared across Hsbc Travel With Points Cars, Hsbc Travel With Points Flights & Hsbc Travel With Points Hotels | Not stated | 18,000 points per month — shared across Hsbc Travel With Points Cars, Hsbc Travel With Points Flights & Hsbc Travel With Points Hotels |
| Point value (headline channel) Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid. Only available for Magnus | ₹0.2 | Not specified |
| Insurance — Lost card liability cover Only available for HSBC Premier | Not specified | ₹3 lakh |
| Insurance — Underwriter Only available for HSBC Premier | Not specified | Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited |
Notes
- Axis Bank Magnus Credit Card: Condition: ₹50,000 spend in the previous 3 calendar months
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
Axis Bank Magnus
Verify with issuer , opens external siteHSBC India Premier
Verify with issuer , opens external site