Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

AXIS Reserve vs HSBC Premier

Side-by-side comparison of the Axis Bank Reserve and the HSBC India Premier. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

Reserve
Premier

The short answer

Pick Premier for spending abroad.

Premier costs ₹30,000 less a year but waives only at Not offered spend, Reserve at ₹35,00,000.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie.
    Reserve ₹50,000 Waivable at ₹35,00,000 spend
    Premier ₹20,000 Annual-fee waiver not offered
    ₹30,000/yr apart · waiver gates differ
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: Premier wins.
    Reserve 1.5%
    Premier 0.99%
    Premier saves ~₹510 per ₹1L abroad
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: tie.
    Reserve Unlimited
    Premier Unlimited
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: insufficient data to compare.
    Reserve ~1.5%
    Premier Not safely INR-comparable
    conservative base value
    Reserve: Strong data Premier: Strong data

Reward earning explained

Reserve

7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100

Strong data
Premier

3 pts / ₹100 · Up to 36 pts / ₹100 on Hsbc Travel With Points Hotels

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • Reserve: ~₹750/month at base rate
  • HSBC Premier: Base earn not clearly specified

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field Reserve Axis Bank Premier HSBC India
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits Unlimited Unlimited
International lounge visits Unlimited Unlimited
Forex / International Use
Forex markup
1.5% vs 0.99%
1.5% 0.99%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹50,000 vs ₹20,000
₹50,000 ₹20,000
Annual-fee waiver
₹35,00,000 vs Not offered
₹35,00,000 Not offered
Interest-free period
Only available for Reserve
Up to 50 days Not specified
Monthly interest rate
Only available for HSBC Premier
Not specified 2.99% / month
Fuel benefit
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions
Rewards
Points per ₹100
7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 vs 3 pts / ₹100
7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 3 pts / ₹100
Conservative base value
~1.5% vs Not safely INR-comparable
~1.5% Not safely INR-comparable
Earn ceiling
Not stated vs 18,000 points per month — shared across Hsbc Travel With Points Cars, Hsbc Travel With Points Flights & Hsbc Travel With Points Hotels
Not stated 18,000 points per month — shared across Hsbc Travel With Points Cars, Hsbc Travel With Points Flights & Hsbc Travel With Points Hotels
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid.
Only available for Reserve
₹0.2 Not specified
Insurance — Lost card liability cover
Only available for HSBC Premier
Not specified ₹3 lakh
Insurance — Underwriter
Only available for HSBC Premier
Not specified Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited

Notes

  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.