Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

ICICI Sapphiro Mastercard vs RBL World Safari

Side-by-side comparison of the ICICI Bank Sapphiro Mastercard and the RBL Bank World Safari. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

The short answer

Pick World Safari for spending abroad.

World Safari costs ₹500 less a year.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie.
    Sapphiro Mastercard ₹3,500 Waivable at ₹6,00,000 spend
    World Safari ₹3,000
    ₹500/yr apart · waiver gates differ
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: World Safari wins.
    Sapphiro Mastercard 3.5%
    World Safari 0%
    World Safari saves ~₹3,500 per ₹1L abroad
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: tie.
    Sapphiro Mastercard 8/year (2 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 2/quarter · requires ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
    World Safari 8/year (2 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 2/quarter · requires ₹35,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter) · International: 1/quarter · requires ₹50,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: tie.
    Sapphiro Mastercard ~0.5%
    World Safari ~0.5%
    conservative base value

Reward earning explained

Sapphiro Mastercard

2 pts / ₹100 · Up to 4 pts / ₹100 on international spend

Strong data
World Safari

2 pts / ₹100 on domestic spend · Up to 5 pts / ₹100 on Travel

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • Sapphiro: ~₹250/month at base rate
  • RBL Bank World Safari: ~₹250/month at base rate

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field Sapphiro Mastercard ICICI Bank World Safari RBL Bank
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
spend-gated on some cards — see caveats
8/year (2 per quarter) 8/year (2 per quarter)
International lounge visits
Only available for Sapphiro
2 per year Not specified
Forex / International Use
Forex markup
Source agreement differs — verify both.
3.5% vs 0%
3.5% 0%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹3,500 vs ₹3,000
₹3,500 ₹3,000
First-year cost
Only available for RBL Bank World Safari
Not specified ₹3,000
Annual-fee waiver
Only available for Sapphiro
₹6,00,000 Not specified
Interest-free period
Only available for Sapphiro
Up to 48 days Not specified
Monthly interest rate
3.75% / month vs 3.99% / month
3.75% / month 3.99% / month
Late-payment charge
Only available for Sapphiro
₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance Not specified
Fuel benefit
Only available for Sapphiro
1% surcharge waiver · up to ₹4,000 transactions · Fuel rewards excluded Not specified
Rewards
Points per ₹100
2 pts / ₹100 vs 2 pts / ₹100 on domestic spend
2 pts / ₹100 2 pts / ₹100 on domestic spend
Conservative base value ~0.5% ~0.5%
Earn ceiling
Eligible spend capped at ₹80,000 per statement cycle vs Not stated
Eligible spend capped at ₹80,000 per statement cycle Not stated
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid.
₹0.25 ₹0.25
Point validity
Only available for Sapphiro
3 years Not specified
Insurance — Air accident cover
Only available for Sapphiro
₹3 crore · Requires at least one card use during the preceding 60 days Not specified
Insurance — Lost card liability cover
Only available for Sapphiro
₹50,000 Not specified
Insurance — Underwriter
Only available for Sapphiro
Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited Not specified

Notes

  • ICICI Sapphiro Credit Card: Condition: ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
  • RBL Bank World Safari Credit Card: Condition: ₹35,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.