Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

AXIS SELECT vs ICICI Sapphiro Mastercard

Side-by-side comparison of the Axis Bank SELECT and the ICICI Bank Sapphiro Mastercard. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

SELECT

The short answer

Pick SELECT for rewards.

SELECT costs ₹500 less a year but waives only at ₹8,00,000 spend, Sapphiro Mastercard at ₹6,00,000.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie.
    SELECT ₹3,000 Waivable at ₹8,00,000 spend
    Sapphiro Mastercard ₹3,500 Waivable at ₹6,00,000 spend
    ₹500/yr apart · waiver gates differ
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: tie.
    SELECT 3.5%
    Sapphiro Mastercard 3.5%
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: tie.
    SELECT 8/year (2 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 2/quarter · requires ₹50,000 spend in the previous 3 calendar months
    Sapphiro Mastercard 8/year (2 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 2/quarter · requires ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: SELECT wins.
    SELECT ~1%
    Sapphiro Mastercard ~0.5%
    conservative base value

Reward earning explained

SELECT

5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100

Strong data
Sapphiro Mastercard

2 pts / ₹100 · Up to 4 pts / ₹100 on international spend

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • SELECT: ~₹500/month at base rate
  • Sapphiro: ~₹250/month at base rate

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field SELECT Axis Bank Sapphiro Mastercard ICICI Bank
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
spend-gated on some cards — see caveats
8/year (2 per quarter) 8/year (2 per quarter)
International lounge visits
6 per year vs 2 per year
6 per year 2 per year
Forex / International Use
Forex markup 3.5% 3.5%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹3,000 vs ₹3,500
₹3,000 ₹3,500
Annual-fee waiver
₹8,00,000 vs ₹6,00,000
₹8,00,000 ₹6,00,000
Interest-free period
Up to 50 days vs Up to 48 days
Up to 50 days Up to 48 days
Monthly interest rate 3.75% / month 3.75% / month
Late-payment charge
Only available for Sapphiro
Not specified ₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance
Fuel benefit
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap vs 1% surcharge waiver · up to ₹4,000 transactions · Fuel rewards excluded
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap 1% surcharge waiver · up to ₹4,000 transactions · Fuel rewards excluded
Rewards
Points per ₹100
5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 vs 2 pts / ₹100
5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 2 pts / ₹100
Conservative base value
~1% vs ~0.5%
~1% ~0.5%
Earn ceiling
Not stated vs Eligible spend capped at ₹80,000 per statement cycle
Not stated Eligible spend capped at ₹80,000 per statement cycle
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid.
₹0.2 vs ₹0.25
₹0.2 ₹0.25
Point validity
Only available for Sapphiro
Not specified 3 years
Insurance — Air accident cover
Only available for Sapphiro
Not specified ₹3 crore · Requires at least one card use during the preceding 60 days
Insurance — Lost card liability cover
Only available for Sapphiro
Not specified ₹50,000
Insurance — Underwriter
Only available for Sapphiro
Not specified Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited

Notes

  • Axis Bank SELECT Credit Card: Condition: ₹50,000 spend in the previous 3 calendar months
  • ICICI Sapphiro Credit Card: Condition: ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.