Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

ICICI Rubyx American Express vs SBI Miles Prime

Side-by-side comparison of the ICICI Bank Rubyx American Express and the SBI Card Miles Prime. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

The short answer

Pick Rubyx American Express for a lower fee.

Pick Miles Prime for spending abroad.

Rubyx American Express costs ₹999 less a year.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: Rubyx American Express wins.
    Rubyx American Express ₹2,000 Waivable at ₹3,00,000 spend
    Miles Prime ₹2,999 Waivable at ₹10,00,000 spend
    Rubyx American Express saves ₹999/yr
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: Miles Prime wins.
    Rubyx American Express 3.5%
    Miles Prime 2.5%
    Miles Prime saves ~₹1,000 per ₹1L abroad
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: tie.
    Rubyx American Express 8/year (2 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 2/quarter · requires ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
    Miles Prime 8/year
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: insufficient data to compare.
    Rubyx American Express Not safely INR-comparable
    Miles Prime ~0.3%
    conservative base value
    Rubyx American Express: Strong data Miles Prime: Strong data

Reward earning explained

Rubyx American Express

2 pts / ₹100

Strong data
Miles Prime

2 Travel Credits / ₹200 · Up to 4 Travel Credits / ₹200 on Travel

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • SBI Miles Prime: ~₹130/month at base rate
  • Rubyx American Express: Base earn not clearly specified

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field Rubyx American Express ICICI Bank Miles Prime SBI Card
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
spend-gated on some cards — see caveats
8/year (2 per quarter) vs 8/year
8/year (2 per quarter) 8/year
International lounge visits
Not included vs 4 per year
No international lounge access 4 per year
Forex / International Use
Forex markup
Source agreement differs — verify both.
3.5% vs 2.5%
3.5% 2.5%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹2,000 vs ₹2,999
₹2,000 ₹2,999
Annual-fee waiver
₹3,00,000 vs ₹10,00,000
₹3,00,000 ₹10,00,000
Interest-free period
Up to 48 days vs Up to 50 days
Up to 48 days Up to 50 days
Monthly interest rate 3.75% / month 3.75% / month
Late-payment charge ₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance ₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance
Fuel benefit
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹500–₹3,000 transactions · ₹250/month waiver cap · Fuel rewards excluded
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions 1% surcharge waiver · ₹500–₹3,000 transactions · ₹250/month waiver cap · Fuel rewards excluded
Rewards
Base earn
2 pts / ₹100 vs 2 Travel Credits / ₹200
2 pts / ₹100 2 Travel Credits / ₹200
Conservative base value
Not safely INR-comparable vs ~0.3%
Not safely INR-comparable ~0.3%
Earn ceiling Not stated Not stated
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid.
Only available for SBI Miles Prime
Not specified ₹1
Point validity
3 years vs 2 years
3 years 2 years
Insurance — Air accident cover
Only available for Rubyx American Express
₹1 crore Not specified
Insurance — Lost card liability cover
₹50,000 vs ₹1 lakh
₹50,000 ₹1 lakh
Insurance — Underwriter Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited

Notes

  • ICICI Bank Rubyx American Express Credit Card: Condition: ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.