2 pts / ₹100
Strong dataICICI Bank Rubyx American Express vs Kotak Mahindra Bank Zen Signature Credit Cards – Fees, Lounge, Forex
Side-by-side comparison of the ICICI Bank Rubyx American Express and the Kotak Mahindra Bank Zen Signature. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
VerdictNo decisive winner on the core dimensions — the head-to-head below shows where the small differences are.
Head-to-head
Three core metrics- Annual fee Zen Signature saves ₹500/yrRubyx American Express ₹2,000 Waivable at ₹3,00,000 spendZen Signature ₹1,500 Waivable at ₹1,50,000 spend
- Forex markup Rubyx American Express 3.5%Zen Signature 3.5%
- Domestic lounge Rubyx American Express 8/year (2 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 2/quarter · requires ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)Zen Signature 8/year (2 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 2/quarter · requires ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
Reward earning explained
Per card5 pts / ₹150 · Up to 10 pts / ₹150 on Shopping Lifestyle
Strong dataPick based on what matters
3 dimensionsStart with the constraint you care about most: annual fee (ICICI Bank Rubyx American Express: ₹2,000 vs Kotak Mahindra Bank Zen Signature: ₹1,500), forex markup (3.5% vs 3.5%), or lounge access (8/year (2 per quarter) vs 8/year (2 per quarter)).
-
Forex markup Tie Both cards are similar for forex
Forex markup is 3.5%.
-
Lounge access Tie Both cards are similar for lounge access
Domestic lounge access is 2 per quarter.
-
Rewards Insufficient data Insufficient data to compare rewards
Available evidence is incomplete: ICICI Bank Rubyx American Express is not safely INR-comparable (no usable point value). Kotak Mahindra Bank Zen Signature conservative base value ~0.6666666666666667% per ₹100.
All fields
Example usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- Kotak Zen Signature: ~₹330/month at base rate
- Rubyx American Express: Base earn not clearly specified
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
| Field | Rubyx American Express ICICI Bank | Zen Signature Kotak Mahindra Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Insurance — Air accident cover Only available for Rubyx American Express | ₹1 crore | Not specified |
| Insurance — Lost card liability cover Only available for Rubyx American Express | ₹50,000 | Not specified |
| Insurance — Underwriter Only available for Rubyx American Express | Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited | Not specified |
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits spend-gated on some cards — see caveats | 8/year (2 per quarter) | 8/year (2 per quarter) |
| International lounge visits Not included vs 3 per year | No international lounge access | 3 per year |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup | 3.5% | 3.5% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee ₹2,000 vs ₹1,500 | ₹2,000 | ₹1,500 |
| Annual-fee waiver ₹3,00,000 vs ₹1,50,000 | ₹3,00,000 | ₹1,50,000 |
| Interest-free period Up to 48 days vs Up to 51 days | Up to 48 days | Up to 51 days |
| Monthly interest rate Only available for Rubyx American Express | 3.75% / month | Not specified |
| Fuel benefit 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹500–₹5,000 transactions · ₹3,500/year waiver cap · Fuel rewards excluded | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹500–₹5,000 transactions · ₹3,500/year waiver cap · Fuel rewards excluded |
| Rewards | ||
| Base earn Some reward lanes are unsupported — base rate only for comparison. 2 pts / ₹100 vs 5 pts / ₹150 | 2 pts / ₹100 | 5 pts / ₹150 |
| Conservative base value Not safely INR-comparable vs ~0.7% | Not safely INR-comparable | ~0.7% |
| Earn ceiling Not stated vs 6,500 points per statement cycle; at 5 pts / ₹150, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,95,000 of eligible spend | Not stated | 6,500 points per statement cycle; at 5 pts / ₹150, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,95,000 of eligible spend |
| Point value (headline channel) Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid. Only available for Kotak Zen Signature | Not specified | ₹0.25 |
Notes
- ICICI Bank Rubyx American Express Credit Card: Condition: ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
- Kotak Zen Signature Credit Card: Condition: ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
ICICI Bank Rubyx American Express
Verify with issuer , opens external siteKotak Mahindra Bank Zen Signature
Verify with issuer , opens external site