Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

ICICI Coral RuPay vs SBI PhonePe SBI PURPLE

Side-by-side comparison of the ICICI Bank Coral RuPay and the SBI Card PhonePe SBI PURPLE. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

Coral RuPay

The short answer

Pick PhonePe SBI PURPLE for rewards and a lower fee.

PhonePe SBI PURPLE costs ₹1 less a year.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: PhonePe SBI PURPLE wins.
    Coral RuPay ₹500 Waivable at ₹1,50,000 spend
    PhonePe SBI PURPLE ₹499 Waivable at ₹1,00,000 spend
    PhonePe SBI PURPLE saves ₹1/yr
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: tie.
    Coral RuPay 3.5%
    PhonePe SBI PURPLE 3.5%
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: insufficient data to compare.
    Coral RuPay 4/year (1 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 1/quarter · requires ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
    PhonePe SBI PURPLE No complimentary lounge access
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: PhonePe SBI PURPLE wins.
    Coral RuPay ~0.5%
    PhonePe SBI PURPLE ~1%
    conservative base value
  • UPI payments UPI payments outcome: tie.
    Coral RuPay Supports UPI
    PhonePe SBI PURPLE Supports UPI

Reward earning explained

Coral RuPay

2 pts / ₹100

Limited data
PhonePe SBI PURPLE

1 pt / ₹100

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • PhonePe SBI PURPLE: ~₹500/month at base rate
  • Coral RuPay: ~₹250/month at base rate

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field Coral RuPay ICICI Bank PhonePe SBI PURPLE SBI Card
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
spend-gated on some cards — see caveats
4/year (1 per quarter) vs No complimentary lounge access
4/year (1 per quarter) No complimentary lounge access
Railway lounge visits
Only available for Coral RuPay
4 railway lounge visits per year (max 1/quarter) Not specified
International lounge visits
Only available for Coral RuPay
No international lounge access Not specified
Forex / International Use
Forex markup 3.5% 3.5%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹500 vs ₹499
₹500 ₹499
Annual-fee waiver
₹1,50,000 vs ₹1,00,000
₹1,50,000 ₹1,00,000
Interest-free period
Up to 48 days vs Up to 50 days
Up to 48 days Up to 50 days
Monthly interest rate 3.75% / month 3.75% / month
Late-payment charge ₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance ₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance
Fuel benefit
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · Fuel rewards excluded vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹500–₹3,000 transactions · ₹100/month waiver cap · Fuel rewards excluded
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · Fuel rewards excluded 1% surcharge waiver · ₹500–₹3,000 transactions · ₹100/month waiver cap · Fuel rewards excluded
Rewards
Points per ₹100
Some reward lanes are unsupported — base rate only for comparison.
2 pts / ₹100 vs 1 pt / ₹100
2 pts / ₹100 1 pt / ₹100
Conservative base value
~0.5% vs ~1%
~0.5% ~1%
Earn ceiling
Eligible spend capped at ₹20,000 per statement cycle vs 750 points per month; at 3 pts / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹25,000 of eligible spend
Eligible spend capped at ₹20,000 per statement cycle 750 points per month at 3 pts / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹25,000 of eligible spend
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid.
Only available for Coral RuPay
₹0.25 Not specified
Point validity
3 years vs 2 years
3 years 2 years

Notes

  • ICICI Bank Coral RuPay Credit Card: Condition: ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.