Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

HDFC Tata Neu Plus RuPay vs SBI PhonePe SBI PURPLE

Side-by-side comparison of the HDFC Bank Tata Neu Plus RuPay and the SBI Card PhonePe SBI PURPLE. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

The short answer

No decisive winner on the core dimensions — the head-to-head below shows where the small differences are.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie.
    Tata Neu Plus RuPay ₹499 Waivable at ₹1,00,000 spend
    PhonePe SBI PURPLE ₹499 Waivable at ₹1,00,000 spend
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: tie.
    Tata Neu Plus RuPay 3.5%
    PhonePe SBI PURPLE 3.5%
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: insufficient data to compare.
    Tata Neu Plus RuPay 4/year (1 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 1/quarter · requires ₹50,000 spend in the calendar quarter
    PhonePe SBI PURPLE No complimentary lounge access
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: tie.
    Tata Neu Plus RuPay ~1%
    PhonePe SBI PURPLE ~1%
    conservative base value
  • UPI payments UPI payments outcome: tie.
    Tata Neu Plus RuPay Supports UPI
    PhonePe SBI PURPLE Supports UPI

Reward earning explained

Tata Neu Plus RuPay

1 NeuCoins / ₹100 · 2 NeuCoins/₹100 on eligible bigBasket, croma, cult.fit, and tata CLiQ

Strong data
PhonePe SBI PURPLE

1 pt / ₹100

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • Tata Neu Plus HDFC Bank: ~₹500/month at base rate
  • PhonePe SBI PURPLE: ~₹500/month at base rate

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field Tata Neu Plus RuPay HDFC Bank PhonePe SBI PURPLE SBI Card
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
spend-gated on some cards — see caveats
4/year (1 per quarter) vs No complimentary lounge access
4/year (1 per quarter) No complimentary lounge access
International lounge visits
Only available for Tata Neu Plus HDFC Bank
No international lounge access Not specified
Forex / International Use
Forex markup 3.5% 3.5%
Fees
Recurring annual fee ₹499 ₹499
Annual-fee waiver ₹1,00,000 ₹1,00,000
Monthly interest rate
Only available for PhonePe SBI PURPLE
Not specified 3.75% / month
Late-payment charge ₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance ₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance
Fuel benefit
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹5,000 transactions · ₹250/month waiver cap vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹500–₹3,000 transactions · ₹100/month waiver cap · Fuel rewards excluded
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹5,000 transactions · ₹250/month waiver cap 1% surcharge waiver · ₹500–₹3,000 transactions · ₹100/month waiver cap · Fuel rewards excluded
Rewards
Points per ₹100
Some reward lanes are unsupported — base rate only for comparison.
1 NeuCoins / ₹100 vs 1 pt / ₹100
1 NeuCoins / ₹100 1 pt / ₹100
Conservative base value ~1% ~1%
Earn ceiling
1,000 NeuCoins per month; at 1 NeuCoins / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,00,000 of eligible spend vs 750 points per month; at 3 pts / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹25,000 of eligible spend
1,000 NeuCoins per month at 1 NeuCoins / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,00,000 of eligible spend 750 points per month at 3 pts / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹25,000 of eligible spend
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid.
Only available for Tata Neu Plus HDFC Bank
₹1 Not specified

Notes

  • HDFC Tata Neu Plus HDFC Bank Credit Card: Condition: ₹50,000 spend in the calendar quarter
  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.