Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

HSBC Live+ vs ICICI Coral RuPay

Side-by-side comparison of the HSBC India Live+ and the ICICI Bank Coral RuPay. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

Live+
Coral RuPay

The short answer

Pick Live+ for rewards and spending abroad.

Pick Coral RuPay for lounge access, a lower fee and UPI payments.

Coral RuPay costs ₹499 less a year.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: Coral RuPay wins.
    Live+ ₹999 Waivable at ₹2,00,000 spend
    Coral RuPay ₹500 Waivable at ₹1,50,000 spend
    Coral RuPay saves ₹499/yr
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: Live+ wins.
    Live+ 1.99%
    Coral RuPay 3.5%
    Live+ saves ~₹1,510 per ₹1L abroad
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: Coral RuPay wins.
    Live+ 2/year
    Coral RuPay 4/year (1 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 1/quarter · requires ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: Live+ wins.
    Live+ ~1.5%
    Coral RuPay ~0.5%
    conservative base value
  • UPI payments UPI payments outcome: Coral RuPay wins.
    Live+ No UPI support
    Coral RuPay Supports UPI

Reward earning explained

Live+

1.5% on domestic spend · 10% on eligible dining, food delivery, grocery, and utilities

Strong data
Coral RuPay

2 pts / ₹100

Limited data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • HSBC Live+: ~₹750/month at base rate
  • Coral RuPay: ~₹250/month at base rate

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field Live+ HSBC India Coral RuPay ICICI Bank
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
spend-gated on some cards — see caveats
2/year vs 4/year (1 per quarter)
2/year 4/year (1 per quarter)
Railway lounge visits
Only available for Coral RuPay
Not specified 4 railway lounge visits per year (max 1/quarter)
International lounge visits
1 per year vs Not included
1 per year No international lounge access
Forex / International Use
Forex markup
Source agreement differs — verify both.
1.99% vs 3.5%
1.99% 3.5%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹999 vs ₹500
₹999 ₹500
Annual-fee waiver
₹2,00,000 vs ₹1,50,000
₹2,00,000 ₹1,50,000
Interest-free period
Only available for Coral RuPay
Not specified Up to 48 days
Monthly interest rate 3.75% / month 3.75% / month
Late-payment charge
Only available for Coral RuPay
Not specified ₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance
Fuel benefit
Only available for Coral RuPay
Not specified 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · Fuel rewards excluded
Rewards
Base earn
Some reward lanes are unsupported — base rate only for comparison.
1.5% on domestic spend vs 2 pts / ₹100
1.5% on domestic spend 2 pts / ₹100
Conservative base value
~1.5% vs ~0.5%
~1.5% ~0.5%
Earn ceiling
₹1,200 per month — shared across Dining, Food delivery, Grocery, Shopping & Utilities vs Eligible spend capped at ₹20,000 per statement cycle
₹1,200 per month — shared across Dining, Food delivery, Grocery, Shopping & Utilities Eligible spend capped at ₹20,000 per statement cycle
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid.
Only available for Coral RuPay
Not specified ₹0.25
Point validity
Only available for Coral RuPay
Not specified 3 years

Notes

  • ICICI Bank Coral RuPay Credit Card: Condition: ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.