1 EDGE Miles / ₹100
Strong data Pairwise comparison
Compare 3+ cards →
AXIS Primus vs ICICI Times Black
Side-by-side comparison of the Axis Bank Primus and the ICICI Bank Times Black. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
Pick Primus for spending abroad.
Times Black costs ₹2,80,000 less a year but waives only at ₹25,00,000 spend, Primus at Not offered.
Head-to-head
- Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie. ₹2,80,000/yr apart · waiver gates differPrimus ₹3,00,000 Annual-fee waiver not offeredTimes Black ₹20,000 Waivable at ₹25,00,000 spend
- Forex markup Forex markup outcome: Primus wins. Primus saves ~₹1,490 per ₹1L abroadPrimus 0%Times Black 1.49%
- Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: tie. Primus UnlimitedTimes Black Unlimited
- Rewards Rewards outcome: insufficient data to compare. conservative base valuePrimus Not safely INR-comparableTimes Black ~0.8%
Reward earning explained
2 pts / ₹100
Strong dataExample usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- Times Black ICICI Bank: ~₹400/month at base rate
- Primus: Base earn not clearly specified
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
All fields
| Field | Primus Axis Bank | Times Black ICICI Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| International lounge visits | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup Source agreement differs — verify both. 0% vs 1.49% | 0% | 1.49% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee ₹3,00,000 vs ₹20,000 | ₹3,00,000 | ₹20,000 |
| Annual-fee waiver Not offered vs ₹25,00,000 | Not offered | ₹25,00,000 |
| Interest-free period Up to 50 days vs Up to 48 days | Up to 50 days | Up to 48 days |
| Monthly interest rate 1% / month vs 3.75% / month | 1% / month | 3.75% / month |
| Late-payment charge Only available for Times Black ICICI Bank | Not specified | ₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance |
| Fuel benefit 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹10,000 transactions vs 1% surcharge waiver · up to ₹4,000 transactions | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹10,000 transactions | 1% surcharge waiver · up to ₹4,000 transactions |
| Rewards | ||
| Points per ₹100 1 EDGE Miles / ₹100 vs 2 pts / ₹100 | 1 EDGE Miles / ₹100 | 2 pts / ₹100 |
| Conservative base value Not safely INR-comparable vs ~0.8% | Not safely INR-comparable | ~0.8% |
| Earn ceiling | Not stated | Not stated |
| Point value (headline channel) Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid. Only available for Times Black ICICI Bank | Not specified | ₹0.4 |
| Point validity Only available for Times Black ICICI Bank | Not specified | 3 years |
| Insurance — Air accident cover Only available for Times Black ICICI Bank | Not specified | ₹3 crore |
| Insurance — Lost card liability cover Only available for Times Black ICICI Bank | Not specified | ₹50,000 |
| Insurance — Underwriter Only available for Times Black ICICI Bank | Not specified | Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited |
Notes
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
Axis Bank Primus
Verify with issuer , opens external siteICICI Bank Times Black
Verify with issuer , opens external site