3 Membership Rewards Points / ₹150
Strong data Pairwise comparison
Compare 3+ cards →
AMEX Platinum Travel vs AXIS IndiGo Axis Bank Premium
Side-by-side comparison of the American Express Platinum Travel and the Axis Bank IndiGo Axis Bank Premium. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
Pick IndiGo Axis Bank Premium for spending abroad.
Head-to-head
- Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie. Platinum Travel ₹5,000IndiGo Axis Bank Premium ₹5,000 Annual-fee waiver not offered
- Forex markup Forex markup outcome: IndiGo Axis Bank Premium wins. IndiGo Axis Bank Premium saves ~₹1,000 per ₹1L abroadPlatinum Travel 3.5%IndiGo Axis Bank Premium 2.5%
- Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: tie. Platinum Travel 8/year (2 per quarter)IndiGo Axis Bank Premium 8/year (2 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 2/quarter · requires ₹50,000 spend in the previous 3 calendar months
- Rewards Rewards outcome: insufficient data to compare. conservative base valuePlatinum Travel Not safely INR-comparableIndiGo Axis Bank Premium Not safely INR-comparable
Reward earning explained
2 pts / ₹100 · Up to 7 pts / ₹100 on Indigo
Strong dataExample usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- American Express Platinum Travel: Base earn not clearly specified
- IndiGo Axis Bank Premium: Base earn not clearly specified
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
All fields
| Field | Platinum Travel American Express | IndiGo Axis Bank Premium Axis Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits spend-gated on some cards — see caveats | 8/year (2 per quarter) | 8/year (2 per quarter) |
| International lounge visits Not included vs 2 per year | No international lounge access | 2 per year |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup Source agreement differs — verify both. 3.5% vs 2.5% | 3.5% | 2.5% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee | ₹5,000 | ₹5,000 |
| First-year cost Only available for American Express Platinum Travel | ₹5,000 | Not specified |
| Annual-fee waiver Only available for IndiGo Axis Bank Premium | Not specified | Not offered |
| Interest-free period Up to 48 days vs Up to 50 days | Up to 48 days | Up to 50 days |
| Monthly interest rate Only available for IndiGo Axis Bank Premium | Not specified | 3.75% / month |
| Fuel benefit 1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap |
| Rewards | ||
| Base earn 3 Membership Rewards Points / ₹150 vs 2 pts / ₹100 | 3 Membership Rewards Points / ₹150 | 2 pts / ₹100 |
| Earn ceiling | Not stated | Not stated |
Notes
- IndiGo Axis Bank Premium Credit Card: Condition: ₹50,000 spend in the previous 3 calendar months
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
American Express Platinum Travel
Verify with issuer , opens external siteAxis Bank IndiGo Axis Bank Premium
Verify with issuer , opens external site