Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

AMEX Platinum Travel vs AXIS Atlas

Side-by-side comparison of the American Express Platinum Travel and the Axis Bank Atlas. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

Atlas

The short answer

No decisive winner on the core dimensions — the head-to-head below shows where the small differences are.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie.
    Platinum Travel ₹5,000
    Atlas ₹5,000 Annual-fee waiver not offered
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: tie.
    Platinum Travel 3.5%
    Atlas 3.5%
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: tie.
    Platinum Travel 8/year (2 per quarter)
    Atlas 8/year
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: insufficient data to compare.
    Platinum Travel Not safely INR-comparable
    Atlas ~2%
    conservative base value
    Platinum Travel: Strong data Atlas: Strong data

Reward earning explained

Platinum Travel

3 Membership Rewards Points / ₹150

Strong data
Atlas

2 EDGE Miles / ₹100 · Up to 5 EDGE Miles / ₹100 on Travel

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • Atlas: ~₹1,000/month at base rate
  • American Express Platinum Travel: Base earn not clearly specified

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field Platinum Travel American Express Atlas Axis Bank
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
8/year (2 per quarter) vs 8/year
8/year (2 per quarter) 8/year
International lounge visits
Not included vs 4 per year
No international lounge access 4 per year
Forex / International Use
Forex markup 3.5% 3.5%
Fees
Recurring annual fee ₹5,000 ₹5,000
First-year cost
Only available for American Express Platinum Travel
₹5,000 Not specified
Annual-fee waiver
Only available for Atlas
Not specified Not offered
Interest-free period
Up to 48 days vs Up to 50 days
Up to 48 days Up to 50 days
Monthly interest rate
Only available for Atlas
Not specified 3.75% / month
Late-payment charge
Only available for Atlas
Not specified ₹500–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance
Fuel benefit
1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap
1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap
Rewards
Base earn
3 Membership Rewards Points / ₹150 vs 2 EDGE Miles / ₹100
3 Membership Rewards Points / ₹150 2 EDGE Miles / ₹100
Conservative base value
Not safely INR-comparable vs ~2%
Not safely INR-comparable ~2%
Earn ceiling
Not stated vs Uncapped
Not stated Uncapped
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline rate at the travel/SmartBuy channel — not the lowest redemption option.
Only available for Atlas
Not specified ₹1

Notes

  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.