2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100
Strong data Pairwise comparison
Compare 3+ cards →
AMEX Membership Rewards vs RBL World Safari
Side-by-side comparison of the American Express Membership Rewards and the RBL Bank World Safari. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
Pick World Safari for spending abroad.
World Safari costs ₹1,500 less a year.
Head-to-head
- Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie. ₹1,500/yr apart · waiver gates differMembership Rewards ₹4,500World Safari ₹3,000
- Forex markup Forex markup outcome: World Safari wins. World Safari saves ~₹3,500 per ₹1L abroadMembership Rewards 3.5%World Safari 0%
- Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: insufficient data to compare. Membership Rewards No complimentary lounge accessWorld Safari 8/year (2 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 2/quarter · requires ₹35,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter) · International: 1/quarter · requires ₹50,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
- Rewards Rewards outcome: tie. conservative base valueMembership Rewards ~0.7%World Safari ~0.5%
Reward earning explained
2 pts / ₹100 on domestic spend · Up to 5 pts / ₹100 on Travel
Strong dataExample usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- American Express Membership Rewards: ~₹330/month at base rate
- RBL Bank World Safari: ~₹250/month at base rate
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
All fields
| Field | Membership Rewards American Express | World Safari RBL Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits spend-gated on some cards — see caveats No complimentary lounge access vs 8/year (2 per quarter) | No complimentary lounge access | 8/year (2 per quarter) |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup Source agreement differs — verify both. 3.5% vs 0% | 3.5% | 0% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee ₹4,500 vs ₹3,000 | ₹4,500 | ₹3,000 |
| First-year cost ₹1,000 vs ₹3,000 | ₹1,000 | ₹3,000 |
| Interest-free period Only available for American Express Membership Rewards | Up to 48 days | Not specified |
| Monthly interest rate 3.5% / month vs 3.99% / month | 3.5% / month | 3.99% / month |
| Fuel benefit Only available for American Express Membership Rewards | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded | Not specified |
| Rewards | ||
| Points per ₹100 2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 vs 2 pts / ₹100 on domestic spend | 2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 | 2 pts / ₹100 on domestic spend |
| Conservative base value ~0.7% vs ~0.5% | ~0.7% | ~0.5% |
| Earn ceiling Uncapped vs Not stated | Uncapped | Not stated |
| Point value (headline channel) Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid. ₹0.333 vs ₹0.25 | ₹0.333 | ₹0.25 |
Notes
- RBL Bank World Safari Credit Card: Condition: ₹35,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
American Express Membership Rewards
Verify with issuer , opens external siteRBL Bank World Safari
Verify with issuer , opens external site