Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

AMEX Membership Rewards vs HSBC TravelOne

Side-by-side comparison of the American Express Membership Rewards and the HSBC India TravelOne. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

TravelOne

The short answer

Pick Membership Rewards for a lower fee.

Membership Rewards costs ₹499 less a year.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: Membership Rewards wins.
    Membership Rewards ₹4,500
    TravelOne ₹4,999 Waivable at ₹8,00,000 spend
    Membership Rewards saves ₹499/yr
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: tie.
    Membership Rewards 3.5%
    TravelOne 3.5%
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: insufficient data to compare.
    Membership Rewards No complimentary lounge access
    TravelOne 6/year
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: insufficient data to compare.
    Membership Rewards ~0.7%
    TravelOne Not safely INR-comparable
    conservative base value
    Membership Rewards: Strong data TravelOne: Strong data

Reward earning explained

Membership Rewards

2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100

Strong data
TravelOne

2 pts / ₹100 · 4 points/₹100 on eligible airlines, travel aggregators and foreign-currency transactions

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • American Express Membership Rewards: ~₹330/month at base rate
  • HSBC TravelOne: Base earn not clearly specified

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field Membership Rewards American Express TravelOne HSBC India
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
No complimentary lounge access vs 6/year
No complimentary lounge access 6/year
International lounge visits
Only available for HSBC TravelOne
Not specified 4 per year
Forex / International Use
Forex markup 3.5% 3.5%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹4,500 vs ₹4,999
₹4,500 ₹4,999
First-year cost
Only available for American Express Membership Rewards
₹1,000 Not specified
Annual-fee waiver
Only available for HSBC TravelOne
Not specified ₹8,00,000
Interest-free period
Only available for American Express Membership Rewards
Up to 48 days Not specified
Monthly interest rate
3.5% / month vs 3.75% / month
3.5% / month 3.75% / month
Fuel benefit
Only available for American Express Membership Rewards
1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded Not specified
Rewards
Points per ₹100
2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 vs 2 pts / ₹100
2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 2 pts / ₹100
Conservative base value
~0.7% vs Not safely INR-comparable
~0.7% Not safely INR-comparable
Earn ceiling
Uncapped vs Calendar-month cap: 50,000 points shared across Airlines and travel aggregators & Foreign-currency transactions
Uncapped Calendar-month cap: 50,000 points shared across Airlines and travel aggregators & Foreign-currency transactions
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid.
Only available for American Express Membership Rewards
₹0.333 Not specified
Insurance — Lost card liability cover
Only available for HSBC TravelOne
Not specified ₹3 lakh
Insurance — Purchase protection
Only available for HSBC TravelOne
Not specified Not specified

Notes

  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.