Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

AMEX Membership Rewards vs AU Zenith+

Side-by-side comparison of the American Express Membership Rewards and the AU Small Finance Bank Zenith+. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

Zenith+

The short answer

Pick Membership Rewards for a lower fee.

Pick Zenith+ for spending abroad.

Membership Rewards costs ₹499 less a year.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: Membership Rewards wins.
    Membership Rewards ₹4,500
    Zenith+ ₹4,999 Waivable at ₹8,00,000 spend
    Membership Rewards saves ₹499/yr
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: Zenith+ wins.
    Membership Rewards 3.5%
    Zenith+ 0.99%
    Zenith+ saves ~₹2,510 per ₹1L abroad
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: insufficient data to compare.
    Membership Rewards No complimentary lounge access
    Zenith+ 8/year (2 per quarter)
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: insufficient data to compare.
    Membership Rewards ~0.7%
    Zenith+ Not safely INR-comparable
    conservative base value
    Membership Rewards: Strong data Zenith+: Limited data

Reward earning explained

Membership Rewards

2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100

Strong data
Zenith+

3 pts / ₹100

Limited data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • American Express Membership Rewards: ~₹330/month at base rate
  • AU Zenith+: Base earn not clearly specified

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field Membership Rewards American Express Zenith+ AU Small Finance Bank
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
No complimentary lounge access vs 8/year (2 per quarter)
No complimentary lounge access 8/year (2 per quarter)
Railway lounge visits
Only available for AU Zenith+
Not specified 8 railway lounge visits per year (max 2/quarter)
International lounge visits
Only available for AU Zenith+
Not specified 2 per quarter
Forex / International Use
Forex markup
Source agreement differs — verify both.
3.5% vs 0.99%
3.5% 0.99%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹4,500 vs ₹4,999
₹4,500 ₹4,999
First-year cost
Only available for American Express Membership Rewards
₹1,000 Not specified
Annual-fee waiver
Only available for AU Zenith+
Not specified ₹8,00,000
Interest-free period
Up to 48 days vs Up to 50 days
Up to 48 days Up to 50 days
Monthly interest rate
3.5% / month vs 1.99% / month
3.5% / month 1.99% / month
Fuel benefit
1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded vs Surcharge waiver available · ₹400–₹5,000 transactions · ₹1,000/month waiver cap
1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded Surcharge waiver available · ₹400–₹5,000 transactions · ₹1,000/month waiver cap
Rewards
Points per ₹100
2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 vs 3 pts / ₹100
2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 3 pts / ₹100
Conservative base value
~0.7% vs Not safely INR-comparable
~0.7% Not safely INR-comparable
Earn ceiling
Uncapped vs Not stated
Uncapped Not stated
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid.
Only available for American Express Membership Rewards
₹0.333 Not specified

Notes

  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.

American Express Membership Rewards

Verify with issuer , opens external site

AU Small Finance Bank Zenith+

Verify with issuer , opens external site