2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100
Strong data Pairwise comparison
Compare 3+ cards →
AMEX Gold Charge Card vs RBL World Safari
Side-by-side comparison of the American Express Gold Charge Card and the RBL Bank World Safari. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
Pick World Safari for spending abroad and a lower fee.
World Safari costs ₹1,500 less a year.
Head-to-head
- Annual fee Annual fee outcome: World Safari wins. World Safari saves ₹1,500/yrGold Charge Card ₹4,500 Annual-fee waiver not offeredWorld Safari ₹3,000
- Forex markup Forex markup outcome: World Safari wins. World Safari saves ~₹3,500 per ₹1L abroadGold Charge Card 3.5%World Safari 0%
- Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: insufficient data to compare. Gold Charge Card No complimentary lounge accessWorld Safari 8/year (2 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 2/quarter · requires ₹35,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter) · International: 1/quarter · requires ₹50,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
- Rewards Rewards outcome: tie. conservative base valueGold Charge Card ~0.7%World Safari ~0.5%
Reward earning explained
2 pts / ₹100 on domestic spend · Up to 5 pts / ₹100 on Travel
Strong dataExample usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- American Express Gold Charge Card: ~₹330/month at base rate
- RBL Bank World Safari: ~₹250/month at base rate
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
All fields
| Field | Gold Charge Card American Express | World Safari RBL Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits spend-gated on some cards — see caveats No complimentary lounge access vs 8/year (2 per quarter) | No complimentary lounge access | 8/year (2 per quarter) |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup Source agreement differs — verify both. 3.5% vs 0% | 3.5% | 0% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee ₹4,500 vs ₹3,000 | ₹4,500 | ₹3,000 |
| First-year cost ₹1,000 vs ₹3,000 | ₹1,000 | ₹3,000 |
| Annual-fee waiver Only available for American Express Gold Charge Card | Not offered | Not specified |
| Monthly interest rate Only available for RBL Bank World Safari | Not specified | 3.99% / month |
| Fuel benefit Only available for American Express Gold Charge Card | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded | Not specified |
| Rewards | ||
| Points per ₹100 2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 vs 2 pts / ₹100 on domestic spend | 2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 | 2 pts / ₹100 on domestic spend |
| Conservative base value ~0.7% vs ~0.5% | ~0.7% | ~0.5% |
| Earn ceiling | Not stated | Not stated |
| Point value (headline channel) Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid. ₹0.333 vs ₹0.25 | ₹0.333 | ₹0.25 |
| Insurance — Air accident cover Only available for American Express Gold Charge Card | ₹30 lakh | Not specified |
| Insurance — Underwriter Only available for American Express Gold Charge Card | Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited | Not specified |
Notes
- RBL Bank World Safari Credit Card: Condition: ₹35,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
American Express Gold Charge Card
Verify with issuer , opens external siteRBL Bank World Safari
Verify with issuer , opens external site