2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100
Strong data Pairwise comparison
Compare 3+ cards →
AMEX Gold Charge Card vs HSBC TravelOne
Side-by-side comparison of the American Express Gold Charge Card and the HSBC India TravelOne. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
Gold Charge Card costs ₹499 less a year but waives only at Not offered spend, TravelOne at ₹8,00,000.
Head-to-head
- Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie. ₹499/yr apart · waiver gates differGold Charge Card ₹4,500 Annual-fee waiver not offeredTravelOne ₹4,999 Waivable at ₹8,00,000 spend
- Forex markup Forex markup outcome: tie. Gold Charge Card 3.5%TravelOne 3.5%
- Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: insufficient data to compare. Gold Charge Card No complimentary lounge accessTravelOne 6/year
- Rewards Rewards outcome: insufficient data to compare. conservative base valueGold Charge Card ~0.7%TravelOne Not safely INR-comparable
Reward earning explained
2 pts / ₹100 · 4 points/₹100 on eligible airlines, travel aggregators and foreign-currency transactions
Strong dataExample usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- American Express Gold Charge Card: ~₹330/month at base rate
- HSBC TravelOne: Base earn not clearly specified
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
All fields
| Field | Gold Charge Card American Express | TravelOne HSBC India |
|---|---|---|
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits No complimentary lounge access vs 6/year | No complimentary lounge access | 6/year |
| International lounge visits Only available for HSBC TravelOne | Not specified | 4 per year |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup | 3.5% | 3.5% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee ₹4,500 vs ₹4,999 | ₹4,500 | ₹4,999 |
| First-year cost Only available for American Express Gold Charge Card | ₹1,000 | Not specified |
| Annual-fee waiver Not offered vs ₹8,00,000 | Not offered | ₹8,00,000 |
| Monthly interest rate Only available for HSBC TravelOne | Not specified | 3.75% / month |
| Fuel benefit Only available for American Express Gold Charge Card | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded | Not specified |
| Rewards | ||
| Points per ₹100 2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 vs 2 pts / ₹100 | 2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 | 2 pts / ₹100 |
| Conservative base value ~0.7% vs Not safely INR-comparable | ~0.7% | Not safely INR-comparable |
| Earn ceiling Not stated vs Calendar-month cap: 50,000 points shared across Airlines and travel aggregators & Foreign-currency transactions | Not stated | Calendar-month cap: 50,000 points shared across Airlines and travel aggregators & Foreign-currency transactions |
| Point value (headline channel) Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid. Only available for American Express Gold Charge Card | ₹0.333 | Not specified |
| Insurance — Air accident cover Only available for American Express Gold Charge Card | ₹30 lakh | Not specified |
| Insurance — Lost card liability cover Only available for HSBC TravelOne | Not specified | ₹3 lakh |
| Insurance — Purchase protection Only available for HSBC TravelOne | Not specified | Not specified |
| Insurance — Underwriter Only available for American Express Gold Charge Card | Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited | Not specified |
Notes
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
American Express Gold Charge Card
Verify with issuer , opens external siteHSBC India TravelOne
Verify with issuer , opens external site