1% · Up to 30 pts / ₹150 on HPCL
Strong data Pairwise comparison
Compare 3+ cards →
IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus vs RBL Platinum Choice
Side-by-side comparison of the IDFC FIRST Bank HPCL Power Plus and the RBL Bank Platinum Choice. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
Pick HPCL Power Plus for rewards and spending abroad.
Head-to-head
- Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie. HPCL Power Plus ₹499 Waivable at ₹1,50,000 spendPlatinum Choice ₹499 Waivable at ₹50,000 spend
- Forex markup Forex markup outcome: HPCL Power Plus wins. HPCL Power Plus saves ~₹3,500 per ₹1L abroadHPCL Power Plus 0%Platinum Choice 3.5%
- Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: insufficient data to compare. HPCL Power Plus 4/year (1 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 1/quarter · requires ₹20,000 spend in the previous month (unlocks the following month)Platinum Choice No complimentary lounge access
- Rewards Rewards outcome: HPCL Power Plus wins. conservative base valueHPCL Power Plus ~1%Platinum Choice ~0.1%
Reward earning explained
1 pt / ₹100 · Up to 2 pts / ₹100 on online spend
Strong dataExample usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus: ~₹500/month at base rate
- RBL Bank Platinum Choice: ~₹60/month at base rate
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
All fields
| Field | HPCL Power Plus IDFC FIRST Bank | Platinum Choice RBL Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits spend-gated on some cards — see caveats 4/year (1 per quarter) vs No complimentary lounge access | 4/year (1 per quarter) | No complimentary lounge access |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup 0% vs 3.5% | 0% | 3.5% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee | ₹499 | ₹499 |
| Annual-fee waiver ₹1,50,000 vs ₹50,000 | ₹1,50,000 | ₹50,000 |
| Interest-free period Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus | Up to 45 days | Not specified |
| Monthly interest rate Only available for RBL Bank Platinum Choice | Not specified | 3.99% / month |
| Fuel benefit No surcharge waiver vs Surcharge waiver available · ₹500–₹4,000 transactions · ₹100/month waiver cap | No surcharge waiver | Surcharge waiver available · ₹500–₹4,000 transactions · ₹100/month waiver cap |
| Rewards | ||
| Base earn 1% vs 1 pt / ₹100 | 1% | 1 pt / ₹100 |
| Conservative base value ~1% vs ~0.1% | ~1% | ~0.1% |
| Earn ceiling 2,400 points per month; at 30 pts / ₹150, this lane reaches the cap at ₹12,000 of eligible spend vs 1,000 points cap; reset period not stated by issuer; at 2 pts / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹50,000 of eligible spend | 2,400 points per month at 30 pts / ₹150, this lane reaches the cap at ₹12,000 of eligible spend | 1,000 points cap reset period not stated by issuer; at 2 pts / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹50,000 of eligible spend |
| Point value (headline channel) Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid. Only available for RBL Bank Platinum Choice | Not specified | ₹0.11 |
| Point validity Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus | 2 years | Not specified |
| Insurance — Personal accident cover Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus | ₹2 lakh | Not specified |
| Insurance — Lost card liability cover Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus | ₹25,000 | Not specified |
| Insurance — Underwriter Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus | Insured by New India Assurance | Not specified |
Notes
- IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus Credit Card: Condition: ₹20,000 spend in the previous month (unlocks the following month)
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
IDFC FIRST Bank HPCL Power Plus
Verify with issuer , opens external siteRBL Bank Platinum Choice
Verify with issuer , opens external site