Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

HDFC Tata Neu Plus RuPay vs IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus

Side-by-side comparison of the HDFC Bank Tata Neu Plus RuPay and the IDFC FIRST Bank HPCL Power Plus. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

The short answer

Pick Tata Neu Plus RuPay for UPI payments.

Pick HPCL Power Plus for spending abroad.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie.
    Tata Neu Plus RuPay ₹499 Waivable at ₹1,00,000 spend
    HPCL Power Plus ₹499 Waivable at ₹1,50,000 spend
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: HPCL Power Plus wins.
    Tata Neu Plus RuPay 3.5%
    HPCL Power Plus 0%
    HPCL Power Plus saves ~₹3,500 per ₹1L abroad
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: tie.
    Tata Neu Plus RuPay 4/year (1 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 1/quarter · requires ₹50,000 spend in the calendar quarter
    HPCL Power Plus 4/year (1 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 1/quarter · requires ₹20,000 spend in the previous month (unlocks the following month)
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: tie.
    Tata Neu Plus RuPay ~1%
    HPCL Power Plus ~1%
    conservative base value
  • UPI payments UPI payments outcome: Tata Neu Plus RuPay wins.
    Tata Neu Plus RuPay Supports UPI
    HPCL Power Plus No UPI support

Reward earning explained

Tata Neu Plus RuPay

1 NeuCoins / ₹100 · 2 NeuCoins/₹100 on eligible bigBasket, croma, cult.fit, and tata CLiQ

Strong data
HPCL Power Plus

1% · Up to 30 pts / ₹150 on HPCL

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • Tata Neu Plus HDFC Bank: ~₹500/month at base rate
  • IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus: ~₹500/month at base rate

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field Tata Neu Plus RuPay HDFC Bank HPCL Power Plus IDFC FIRST Bank
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
spend-gated on some cards — see caveats
4/year (1 per quarter) 4/year (1 per quarter)
International lounge visits
Only available for Tata Neu Plus HDFC Bank
No international lounge access Not specified
Forex / International Use
Forex markup
3.5% vs 0%
3.5% 0%
Fees
Recurring annual fee ₹499 ₹499
Annual-fee waiver
₹1,00,000 vs ₹1,50,000
₹1,00,000 ₹1,50,000
Interest-free period
Up to 50 days vs Up to 45 days
Up to 50 days Up to 45 days
Late-payment charge
Only available for Tata Neu Plus HDFC Bank
₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance Not specified
Fuel benefit
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹5,000 transactions · ₹250/month waiver cap vs No surcharge waiver
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹5,000 transactions · ₹250/month waiver cap No surcharge waiver
Rewards
Base earn
1 NeuCoins / ₹100 vs 1%
1 NeuCoins / ₹100 1%
Conservative base value ~1% ~1%
Earn ceiling
1,000 NeuCoins per month; at 1 NeuCoins / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,00,000 of eligible spend vs 2,400 points per month; at 30 pts / ₹150, this lane reaches the cap at ₹12,000 of eligible spend
1,000 NeuCoins per month at 1 NeuCoins / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,00,000 of eligible spend 2,400 points per month at 30 pts / ₹150, this lane reaches the cap at ₹12,000 of eligible spend
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid.
Only available for Tata Neu Plus HDFC Bank
₹1 Not specified
Insurance — Personal accident cover
Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus
Not specified ₹2 lakh
Insurance — Lost card liability cover
Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus
Not specified ₹25,000
Insurance — Underwriter
Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus
Not specified Insured by New India Assurance

Notes

  • HDFC Tata Neu Plus HDFC Bank Credit Card: Condition: ₹50,000 spend in the calendar quarter
  • IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus Credit Card: Condition: ₹20,000 spend in the previous month (unlocks the following month)
  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.