2 pts / ₹100
Strong data Pairwise comparison
Compare 3+ cards →
ICICI Times Black vs KOTAK White Reserve
Side-by-side comparison of the ICICI Bank Times Black and the Kotak Mahindra Bank White Reserve. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
Pick Times Black for spending abroad.
Pick White Reserve for rewards, a lower fee and UPI payments.
White Reserve costs ₹7,500 less a year.
Head-to-head
- Annual fee Annual fee outcome: White Reserve wins. White Reserve saves ₹7,500/yrTimes Black ₹20,000 Waivable at ₹25,00,000 spendWhite Reserve ₹12,500 Waivable at ₹10,00,000 spend
- Forex markup Forex markup outcome: Times Black wins. Times Black saves ~₹510 per ₹1L abroadTimes Black 1.49%White Reserve 2%
- Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: tie. Times Black UnlimitedWhite Reserve Unlimited
- Rewards Rewards outcome: White Reserve wins. conservative base valueTimes Black ~0.8%White Reserve ~2%
- UPI payments UPI payments outcome: White Reserve wins. Times Black No UPI supportWhite Reserve Supports UPI
Reward earning explained
2%
Strong dataExample usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- Kotak White Reserve: ~₹1,000/month at base rate
- Times Black ICICI Bank: ~₹400/month at base rate
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
All fields
| Field | Times Black ICICI Bank | White Reserve Kotak Mahindra Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| International lounge visits | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup 1.49% vs 2% | 1.49% | 2% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee ₹20,000 vs ₹12,500 | ₹20,000 | ₹12,500 |
| Annual-fee waiver ₹25,00,000 vs ₹10,00,000 | ₹25,00,000 | ₹10,00,000 |
| Interest-free period Up to 48 days vs Up to 51 days | Up to 48 days | Up to 51 days |
| Monthly interest rate Only available for Times Black ICICI Bank | 3.75% / month | Not specified |
| Late-payment charge Only available for Times Black ICICI Bank | ₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance | Not specified |
| Fuel benefit 1% surcharge waiver · up to ₹4,000 transactions vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹7,500 transactions · ₹4,500/year waiver cap | 1% surcharge waiver · up to ₹4,000 transactions | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹7,500 transactions · ₹4,500/year waiver cap |
| Rewards | ||
| Base earn 2 pts / ₹100 vs 2% | 2 pts / ₹100 | 2% |
| Conservative base value ~0.8% vs ~2% | ~0.8% | ~2% |
| Earn ceiling | Not stated | Not stated |
| Point value (headline channel) Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid. Only available for Times Black ICICI Bank | ₹0.4 | Not specified |
| Point validity Only available for Times Black ICICI Bank | 3 years | Not specified |
| Insurance — Air accident cover Only available for Times Black ICICI Bank | ₹3 crore | Not specified |
| Insurance — Lost card liability cover Only available for Times Black ICICI Bank | ₹50,000 | Not specified |
| Insurance — Underwriter Only available for Times Black ICICI Bank | Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited | Not specified |
Notes
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
ICICI Bank Times Black
Verify with issuer , opens external siteKotak Mahindra Bank White Reserve
Verify with issuer , opens external site