Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

HSBC TravelOne vs ICICI Sapphiro Mastercard

Side-by-side comparison of the HSBC India TravelOne and the ICICI Bank Sapphiro Mastercard. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

TravelOne

The short answer

Pick Sapphiro Mastercard for lounge access and a lower fee.

Sapphiro Mastercard costs ₹1,499 less a year.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: Sapphiro Mastercard wins.
    TravelOne ₹4,999 Waivable at ₹8,00,000 spend
    Sapphiro Mastercard ₹3,500 Waivable at ₹6,00,000 spend
    Sapphiro Mastercard saves ₹1,499/yr
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: tie.
    TravelOne 3.5%
    Sapphiro Mastercard 3.5%
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: Sapphiro Mastercard wins.
    TravelOne 6/year
    Sapphiro Mastercard 8/year (2 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 2/quarter · requires ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: insufficient data to compare.
    TravelOne Not safely INR-comparable
    Sapphiro Mastercard ~0.5%
    conservative base value
    TravelOne: Strong data Sapphiro Mastercard: Strong data

Reward earning explained

TravelOne

2 pts / ₹100 · 4 points/₹100 on eligible airlines, travel aggregators and foreign-currency transactions

Strong data
Sapphiro Mastercard

2 pts / ₹100 · Up to 4 pts / ₹100 on international spend

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • Sapphiro: ~₹250/month at base rate
  • HSBC TravelOne: Base earn not clearly specified

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field TravelOne HSBC India Sapphiro Mastercard ICICI Bank
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
spend-gated on some cards — see caveats
6/year vs 8/year (2 per quarter)
6/year 8/year (2 per quarter)
International lounge visits
4 per year vs 2 per year
4 per year 2 per year
Forex / International Use
Forex markup 3.5% 3.5%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹4,999 vs ₹3,500
₹4,999 ₹3,500
Annual-fee waiver
₹8,00,000 vs ₹6,00,000
₹8,00,000 ₹6,00,000
Interest-free period
Only available for Sapphiro
Not specified Up to 48 days
Monthly interest rate 3.75% / month 3.75% / month
Late-payment charge
Only available for Sapphiro
Not specified ₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance
Fuel benefit
Only available for Sapphiro
Not specified 1% surcharge waiver · up to ₹4,000 transactions · Fuel rewards excluded
Rewards
Points per ₹100 2 pts / ₹100 2 pts / ₹100
Conservative base value
Not safely INR-comparable vs ~0.5%
Not safely INR-comparable ~0.5%
Earn ceiling
Calendar-month cap: 50,000 points shared across Airlines and travel aggregators & Foreign-currency transactions vs Eligible spend capped at ₹80,000 per statement cycle
Calendar-month cap: 50,000 points shared across Airlines and travel aggregators & Foreign-currency transactions Eligible spend capped at ₹80,000 per statement cycle
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid.
Only available for Sapphiro
Not specified ₹0.25
Point validity
Only available for Sapphiro
Not specified 3 years
Insurance — Air accident cover
Only available for Sapphiro
Not specified ₹3 crore · Requires at least one card use during the preceding 60 days
Insurance — Lost card liability cover
₹3 lakh vs ₹50,000
₹3 lakh ₹50,000
Insurance — Purchase protection
Only available for HSBC TravelOne
Not specified Not specified
Insurance — Underwriter
Only available for Sapphiro
Not specified Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited

Notes

  • ICICI Sapphiro Credit Card: Condition: ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.