Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

HSBC Live+ vs IDFC FIRST Select

Side-by-side comparison of the HSBC India Live+ and the IDFC FIRST Bank Select. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

Live+
Select

The short answer

Pick Live+ for rewards.

Pick Select for lounge access and spending abroad.

Select costs ₹999 less a year.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie.
    Live+ ₹999 Waivable at ₹2,00,000 spend
    Select ₹0
    ₹999/yr apart · waiver gates differ
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: Select wins.
    Live+ 1.99%
    Select 0%
    Select saves ~₹1,990 per ₹1L abroad
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: Select wins.
    Live+ 2/year
    Select 4/year (1 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 1/quarter · requires ₹20,000 spend in the previous month (unlocks the following month)
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: Live+ wins.
    Live+ ~1.5%
    Select ~0.4%
    conservative base value

Reward earning explained

Live+

1.5% on domestic spend · 10% on eligible dining, food delivery, grocery, and utilities

Strong data
Select

3 pts / ₹200 · 10 pts / ₹200 on eligible dining, international, and travel

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • HSBC Live+: ~₹750/month at base rate
  • IDFC FIRST Select: ~₹190/month at base rate

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field Live+ HSBC India Select IDFC FIRST Bank
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
spend-gated on some cards — see caveats
2/year vs 4/year (1 per quarter)
2/year 4/year (1 per quarter)
Railway lounge visits
Only available for IDFC FIRST Select
Not specified 16 railway lounge visits per year (max 4/quarter)
International lounge visits
1 per year vs Not included
1 per year No international lounge access
Forex / International Use
Forex markup
Source agreement differs — verify both.
1.99% vs 0%
1.99% 0%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹999 vs ₹0
₹999 ₹0
Annual-fee waiver
Only available for HSBC Live+
₹2,00,000 Not specified
Interest-free period
Only available for IDFC FIRST Select
Not specified Up to 45 days
Monthly interest rate
3.75% / month vs 0.71%–3.85% per month
3.75% / month 0.71%–3.85% per month
Fuel benefit
Only available for IDFC FIRST Select
Not specified 1% surcharge waiver · ₹200–₹5,000 transactions · ₹300/month waiver cap · Fuel rewards excluded
Rewards
Base earn
Some reward lanes are unsupported — base rate only for comparison.
1.5% on domestic spend vs 3 pts / ₹200
1.5% on domestic spend 3 pts / ₹200
Conservative base value
~1.5% vs ~0.4%
~1.5% ~0.4%
Earn ceiling
₹1,200 per month — shared across Dining, Food delivery, Grocery, Shopping & Utilities vs Rewards apply only to spend up to your credit limit each statement cycle — shared across General spend, Dining, International spend, Travel, Insurance & Utilities
₹1,200 per month — shared across Dining, Food delivery, Grocery, Shopping & Utilities Rewards apply only to spend up to your credit limit each statement cycle — shared across General spend, Dining, International spend, Travel, Insurance & Utilities
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid.
Only available for IDFC FIRST Select
Not specified ₹0.25
Point validity
Only available for IDFC FIRST Select
Not specified 2 years
Insurance — Air accident cover
Only available for IDFC FIRST Select
Not specified ₹1 crore
Insurance — Personal accident cover
Only available for IDFC FIRST Select
Not specified ₹5 lakh
Insurance — Lost card liability cover
Only available for IDFC FIRST Select
Not specified ₹50,000
Insurance — Underwriter
Only available for IDFC FIRST Select
Not specified Insured by New India Assurance

Notes

  • IDFC FIRST Select Credit Card: Condition: ₹20,000 spend in the previous month (unlocks the following month)
  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.