1 EDGE Miles / ₹100
Strong dataAxis Bank Primus vs Axis Bank Reserve Credit Cards – Fees, Lounge, Forex
Side-by-side comparison of the Axis Bank Primus and the Axis Bank Reserve. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
VerdictPick Primus for travel and spending abroad.
Head-to-head
Three core metrics- Annual fee Reserve saves ₹2,50,000/yrPrimus ₹3,00,000 Annual-fee waiver not offeredReserve ₹50,000 Waivable at ₹35,00,000 spend
- Forex markup Primus saves ~₹1,500 per ₹1L abroadPrimus 0%Reserve 1.5%
- Domestic lounge Primus UnlimitedReserve Unlimited
Reward earning explained
Per card7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100
Strong dataPick based on what matters
4 dimensionsStart with the constraint you care about most: annual fee (Axis Bank Primus: ₹3,00,000 vs Axis Bank Reserve: ₹50,000), forex markup (0% vs 1.5%), or lounge access (Unlimited vs Unlimited).
-
Travel Axis Bank Primus wins Axis Bank Primus is better for travel
Axis Bank Primus is stronger here. Forex markup is 0%.
-
Forex markup Axis Bank Primus wins Axis Bank Primus is better for forex
Axis Bank Primus is stronger here. Forex markup is 0%.
-
Lounge access Tie Both cards are similar for lounge access
Domestic lounge access is unlimited.
-
Rewards Insufficient data Insufficient data to compare rewards
Available evidence is incomplete: Axis Bank Primus is not safely INR-comparable (no usable point value). Axis Bank Reserve conservative base value ~1.5% per ₹100.
All fields
Example usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- Reserve: ~₹750/month at base rate
- Primus: Base earn not clearly specified
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
| Field | Primus Axis Bank | Reserve Axis Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| International lounge visits | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup Source agreement differs — verify both. 0% vs 1.5% | 0% | 1.5% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee ₹3,00,000 vs ₹50,000 | ₹3,00,000 | ₹50,000 |
| Annual-fee waiver Not offered vs ₹35,00,000 | Not offered | ₹35,00,000 |
| Monthly interest rate Only available for Primus | 1% / month | Not specified |
| Fuel benefit 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹10,000 transactions vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹10,000 transactions | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap |
| Rewards | ||
| Points per ₹100 1 EDGE Miles / ₹100 vs 7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 | 1 EDGE Miles / ₹100 | 7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 |
| Conservative base value Not safely INR-comparable vs ~1.5% | Not safely INR-comparable | ~1.5% |
| Earn ceiling | Not stated | Not stated |
| Point value (headline channel) Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid. Only available for Reserve | Not specified | ₹0.2 |
Notes
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
Axis Bank Primus
Verify with issuer , opens external siteAxis Bank Reserve
Verify with issuer , opens external site