3 Membership Rewards Points / ₹150
Strong data Pairwise comparison
Compare 3+ cards →
AMEX Platinum Travel vs IDFC FIRST Mayura
Side-by-side comparison of the American Express Platinum Travel and the IDFC FIRST Bank Mayura. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
Pick Platinum Travel for a lower fee.
Pick Mayura for lounge access and spending abroad.
Platinum Travel costs ₹999 less a year.
Head-to-head
- Annual fee Annual fee outcome: Platinum Travel wins. Platinum Travel saves ₹999/yrPlatinum Travel ₹5,000Mayura ₹5,999 Annual-fee waiver not offered
- Forex markup Forex markup outcome: Mayura wins. Mayura saves ~₹3,500 per ₹1L abroadPlatinum Travel 3.5%Mayura 0%
- Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: Mayura wins. Platinum Travel 8/year (2 per quarter)Mayura 16/year (4 per quarter) Conditional · 4/quarter · requires ₹20,000 spend in the previous month (unlocks the following month)
- Rewards Rewards outcome: insufficient data to compare. conservative base valuePlatinum Travel Not safely INR-comparableMayura ~0.8%
Reward earning explained
5 pts / ₹150
Strong dataExample usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- IDFC First Bank Mayura: ~₹170/month at base rate
- American Express Platinum Travel: Base earn not clearly specified
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
All fields
| Field | Platinum Travel American Express | Mayura IDFC FIRST Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits spend-gated on some cards — see caveats 8/year (2 per quarter) vs 16/year (4 per quarter) | 8/year (2 per quarter) | 16/year (4 per quarter) |
| International lounge visits Not included vs 4 per quarter | No international lounge access | 4 per quarter |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup Source agreement differs — verify both. 3.5% vs 0% | 3.5% | 0% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee ₹5,000 vs ₹5,999 | ₹5,000 | ₹5,999 |
| First-year cost Only available for American Express Platinum Travel | ₹5,000 | Not specified |
| Annual-fee waiver Only available for IDFC First Bank Mayura | Not specified | Not offered |
| Interest-free period Up to 48 days vs Up to 45 days | Up to 48 days | Up to 45 days |
| Fuel benefit 1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹200–₹5,000 transactions · ₹300/statement waiver cap | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹200–₹5,000 transactions · ₹300/statement waiver cap |
| Rewards | ||
| Points per ₹150 Some reward lanes are unsupported — base rate only for comparison. 3 Membership Rewards Points / ₹150 vs 5 pts / ₹150 | 3 Membership Rewards Points / ₹150 | 5 pts / ₹150 |
| Conservative base value Not safely INR-comparable vs ~0.8% | Not safely INR-comparable | ~0.8% |
| Earn ceiling Not stated vs Eligible spend capped at ₹20,000 per statement cycle | Not stated | Eligible spend capped at ₹20,000 per statement cycle |
| Point value (headline channel) Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid. Only available for IDFC First Bank Mayura | Not specified | ₹0.25 |
| Insurance — Air accident cover Only available for IDFC First Bank Mayura | Not specified | ₹1 crore |
| Insurance — Personal accident cover Only available for IDFC First Bank Mayura | Not specified | ₹10 lakh |
| Insurance — Lost card liability cover Only available for IDFC First Bank Mayura | Not specified | ₹50,000 |
| Insurance — Underwriter Only available for IDFC First Bank Mayura | Not specified | Insured by New India Assurance |
Notes
- IDFC First Bank Mayura Credit Card: Condition: ₹20,000 spend in the previous month (unlocks the following month)
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
American Express Platinum Travel
Verify with issuer , opens external siteIDFC FIRST Bank Mayura
Verify with issuer , opens external site