2.5 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 · 12.5 Membership Rewards Points/₹100 on eligible makeMyTrip and tata CLiQ
Strong data Pairwise comparison
Compare 3+ cards →
AMEX Platinum Charge Card vs AXIS Primus
Side-by-side comparison of the American Express Platinum Charge Card and the Axis Bank Primus. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
Pick Platinum Charge Card for a lower fee.
Pick Primus for spending abroad.
Platinum Charge Card costs ₹2,34,000 less a year.
Head-to-head
- Annual fee Annual fee outcome: Platinum Charge Card wins. Platinum Charge Card saves ₹2,34,000/yrPlatinum Charge Card ₹66,000 Annual-fee waiver not offeredPrimus ₹3,00,000 Annual-fee waiver not offered
- Forex markup Forex markup outcome: Primus wins. Primus saves ~₹3,500 per ₹1L abroadPlatinum Charge Card 3.5%Primus 0%
- Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: tie. Platinum Charge Card UnlimitedPrimus Unlimited
- Rewards Rewards outcome: insufficient data to compare. conservative base valuePlatinum Charge Card Not safely INR-comparablePrimus Not safely INR-comparable
Reward earning explained
1 EDGE Miles / ₹100
Strong dataExample usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- American Express Platinum Charge Card: Base earn not clearly specified
- Primus: Base earn not clearly specified
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
All fields
| Field | Platinum Charge Card American Express | Primus Axis Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| International lounge visits | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup Source agreement differs — verify both. 3.5% vs 0% | 3.5% | 0% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee ₹66,000 vs ₹3,00,000 | ₹66,000 | ₹3,00,000 |
| Annual-fee waiver | Not offered | Not offered |
| Interest-free period Only available for Primus | Not specified | Up to 50 days |
| Monthly interest rate Only available for Primus | Not specified | 1% / month |
| Fuel benefit 1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹10,000 transactions | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹10,000 transactions |
| Rewards | ||
| Points per ₹100 2.5 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 vs 1 EDGE Miles / ₹100 | 2.5 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 | 1 EDGE Miles / ₹100 |
| Earn ceiling 5,000 Membership Rewards Points per calendar month; at 5 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,00,000 of eligible spend vs Not stated | 5,000 Membership Rewards Points per calendar month at 5 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,00,000 of eligible spend | Not stated |
| Insurance — Air accident cover Only available for American Express Platinum Charge Card | ₹5 crore | Not specified |
| Insurance — Underwriter Only available for American Express Platinum Charge Card | Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited | Not specified |
Notes
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
American Express Platinum Charge Card
Verify with issuer , opens external siteAxis Bank Primus
Verify with issuer , opens external site