2.5 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 · 12.5 Membership Rewards Points/₹100 on eligible makeMyTrip and tata CLiQ
Strong data Pairwise comparison
Compare 3+ cards →
AMEX Platinum Charge Card vs AXIS Reserve
Side-by-side comparison of the American Express Platinum Charge Card and the Axis Bank Reserve. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
Pick Reserve for spending abroad.
Reserve costs ₹16,000 less a year but waives only at ₹35,00,000 spend, Platinum Charge Card at Not offered.
Head-to-head
- Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie. ₹16,000/yr apart · waiver gates differPlatinum Charge Card ₹66,000 Annual-fee waiver not offeredReserve ₹50,000 Waivable at ₹35,00,000 spend
- Forex markup Forex markup outcome: Reserve wins. Reserve saves ~₹2,000 per ₹1L abroadPlatinum Charge Card 3.5%Reserve 1.5%
- Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: tie. Platinum Charge Card UnlimitedReserve Unlimited
- Rewards Rewards outcome: insufficient data to compare. conservative base valuePlatinum Charge Card Not safely INR-comparableReserve ~1.5%
Reward earning explained
7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100
Strong dataExample usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- Reserve: ~₹750/month at base rate
- American Express Platinum Charge Card: Base earn not clearly specified
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
All fields
| Field | Platinum Charge Card American Express | Reserve Axis Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| International lounge visits | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup 3.5% vs 1.5% | 3.5% | 1.5% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee ₹66,000 vs ₹50,000 | ₹66,000 | ₹50,000 |
| Annual-fee waiver Not offered vs ₹35,00,000 | Not offered | ₹35,00,000 |
| Interest-free period Only available for Reserve | Not specified | Up to 50 days |
| Fuel benefit 1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap |
| Rewards | ||
| Points per ₹100 2.5 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 vs 7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 | 2.5 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 | 7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 |
| Conservative base value Not safely INR-comparable vs ~1.5% | Not safely INR-comparable | ~1.5% |
| Earn ceiling 5,000 Membership Rewards Points per calendar month; at 5 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,00,000 of eligible spend vs Not stated | 5,000 Membership Rewards Points per calendar month at 5 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,00,000 of eligible spend | Not stated |
| Point value (headline channel) Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid. Only available for Reserve | Not specified | ₹0.2 |
| Insurance — Air accident cover Only available for American Express Platinum Charge Card | ₹5 crore | Not specified |
| Insurance — Underwriter Only available for American Express Platinum Charge Card | Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited | Not specified |
Notes
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
American Express Platinum Charge Card
Verify with issuer , opens external siteAxis Bank Reserve
Verify with issuer , opens external site