2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100
Strong data Pairwise comparison
Compare 3+ cards →
AMEX Membership Rewards vs AXIS SELECT
Side-by-side comparison of the American Express Membership Rewards and the Axis Bank SELECT. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
SELECT costs ₹1,500 less a year.
Head-to-head
- Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie. ₹1,500/yr apart · waiver gates differMembership Rewards ₹4,500SELECT ₹3,000 Waivable at ₹8,00,000 spend
- Forex markup Forex markup outcome: tie. Membership Rewards 3.5%SELECT 3.5%
- Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: insufficient data to compare. Membership Rewards No complimentary lounge accessSELECT 8/year (2 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 2/quarter · requires ₹50,000 spend in the previous 3 calendar months
- Rewards Rewards outcome: tie. conservative base valueMembership Rewards ~0.7%SELECT ~1%
Reward earning explained
5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100
Strong dataExample usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- SELECT: ~₹500/month at base rate
- American Express Membership Rewards: ~₹330/month at base rate
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
All fields
| Field | Membership Rewards American Express | SELECT Axis Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits spend-gated on some cards — see caveats No complimentary lounge access vs 8/year (2 per quarter) | No complimentary lounge access | 8/year (2 per quarter) |
| International lounge visits Only available for SELECT | Not specified | 6 per year |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup | 3.5% | 3.5% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee ₹4,500 vs ₹3,000 | ₹4,500 | ₹3,000 |
| First-year cost Only available for American Express Membership Rewards | ₹1,000 | Not specified |
| Annual-fee waiver Only available for SELECT | Not specified | ₹8,00,000 |
| Interest-free period Up to 48 days vs Up to 50 days | Up to 48 days | Up to 50 days |
| Monthly interest rate 3.5% / month vs 3.75% / month | 3.5% / month | 3.75% / month |
| Fuel benefit 1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap |
| Rewards | ||
| Points per ₹100 2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 vs 5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 | 2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 | 5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 |
| Conservative base value ~0.7% vs ~1% | ~0.7% | ~1% |
| Earn ceiling Uncapped vs Not stated | Uncapped | Not stated |
| Point value (headline channel) Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid. ₹0.333 vs ₹0.2 | ₹0.333 | ₹0.2 |
Notes
- Axis Bank SELECT Credit Card: Condition: ₹50,000 spend in the previous 3 calendar months
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
American Express Membership Rewards
Verify with issuer , opens external siteAxis Bank SELECT
Verify with issuer , opens external site