2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100
Strong data Pairwise comparison
Compare 3+ cards →
AMEX Gold Charge Card vs AXIS SELECT
Side-by-side comparison of the American Express Gold Charge Card and the Axis Bank SELECT. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
SELECT costs ₹1,500 less a year but waives only at ₹8,00,000 spend, Gold Charge Card at Not offered.
Head-to-head
- Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie. ₹1,500/yr apart · waiver gates differGold Charge Card ₹4,500 Annual-fee waiver not offeredSELECT ₹3,000 Waivable at ₹8,00,000 spend
- Forex markup Forex markup outcome: tie. Gold Charge Card 3.5%SELECT 3.5%
- Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: insufficient data to compare. Gold Charge Card No complimentary lounge accessSELECT 8/year (2 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 2/quarter · requires ₹50,000 spend in the previous 3 calendar months
- Rewards Rewards outcome: tie. conservative base valueGold Charge Card ~0.7%SELECT ~1%
Reward earning explained
5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100
Strong dataExample usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- SELECT: ~₹500/month at base rate
- American Express Gold Charge Card: ~₹330/month at base rate
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
All fields
| Field | Gold Charge Card American Express | SELECT Axis Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits spend-gated on some cards — see caveats No complimentary lounge access vs 8/year (2 per quarter) | No complimentary lounge access | 8/year (2 per quarter) |
| International lounge visits Only available for SELECT | Not specified | 6 per year |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup | 3.5% | 3.5% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee ₹4,500 vs ₹3,000 | ₹4,500 | ₹3,000 |
| First-year cost Only available for American Express Gold Charge Card | ₹1,000 | Not specified |
| Annual-fee waiver Not offered vs ₹8,00,000 | Not offered | ₹8,00,000 |
| Interest-free period Only available for SELECT | Not specified | Up to 50 days |
| Monthly interest rate Only available for SELECT | Not specified | 3.75% / month |
| Fuel benefit 1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap |
| Rewards | ||
| Points per ₹100 2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 vs 5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 | 2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 | 5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 |
| Conservative base value ~0.7% vs ~1% | ~0.7% | ~1% |
| Earn ceiling | Not stated | Not stated |
| Point value (headline channel) Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid. ₹0.333 vs ₹0.2 | ₹0.333 | ₹0.2 |
| Insurance — Air accident cover Only available for American Express Gold Charge Card | ₹30 lakh | Not specified |
| Insurance — Underwriter Only available for American Express Gold Charge Card | Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited | Not specified |
Notes
- Axis Bank SELECT Credit Card: Condition: ₹50,000 spend in the previous 3 calendar months
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
American Express Gold Charge Card
Verify with issuer , opens external siteAxis Bank SELECT
Verify with issuer , opens external site