2 pts / ₹100
Strong data Pairwise comparison
Compare 3+ cards →
ICICI Rubyx American Express vs SBI Prime
Side-by-side comparison of the ICICI Bank Rubyx American Express and the SBI Card Prime. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
Pick Rubyx American Express for a lower fee.
Rubyx American Express costs ₹999 less a year.
Head-to-head
- Annual fee Annual fee outcome: Rubyx American Express wins. Rubyx American Express saves ₹999/yrRubyx American Express ₹2,000 Waivable at ₹3,00,000 spendPrime ₹2,999 Waivable at ₹3,00,000 spend
- Forex markup Forex markup outcome: tie. Rubyx American Express 3.5%Prime 3.5%
- Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: tie. Rubyx American Express 8/year (2 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 2/quarter · requires ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)Prime 8/year (2 per quarter)
- Rewards Rewards outcome: insufficient data to compare. conservative base valueRubyx American Express Not safely INR-comparablePrime ~0.5%
Reward earning explained
2 pts / ₹100 · 10 points/₹100 on eligible departmental Stores, dining, grocery, and movies
Strong dataExample usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- SBI Prime: ~₹250/month at base rate
- Rubyx American Express: Base earn not clearly specified
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
All fields
| Field | Rubyx American Express ICICI Bank | Prime SBI Card |
|---|---|---|
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits spend-gated on some cards — see caveats | 8/year (2 per quarter) | 8/year (2 per quarter) |
| International lounge visits Not included vs 4 per year | No international lounge access | 4 per year |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup | 3.5% | 3.5% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee ₹2,000 vs ₹2,999 | ₹2,000 | ₹2,999 |
| Annual-fee waiver | ₹3,00,000 | ₹3,00,000 |
| Interest-free period Up to 48 days vs Up to 50 days | Up to 48 days | Up to 50 days |
| Monthly interest rate | 3.75% / month | 3.75% / month |
| Late-payment charge | ₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance | ₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance |
| Fuel benefit Only available for Rubyx American Express | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions | Not specified |
| Rewards | ||
| Points per ₹100 Some reward lanes are unsupported — base rate only for comparison. | 2 pts / ₹100 | 2 pts / ₹100 |
| Conservative base value Not safely INR-comparable vs ~0.5% | Not safely INR-comparable | ~0.5% |
| Earn ceiling Not stated vs 3,000 points per month; at 20 pts / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹15,000 of eligible spend | Not stated | 3,000 points per month at 20 pts / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹15,000 of eligible spend |
| Point value (headline channel) Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid. Only available for SBI Prime | Not specified | ₹0.25 |
| Point validity 3 years vs 2 years | 3 years | 2 years |
| Insurance — Air accident cover Only available for Rubyx American Express | ₹1 crore | Not specified |
| Insurance — Lost card liability cover Only available for Rubyx American Express | ₹50,000 | Not specified |
| Insurance — Underwriter Only available for Rubyx American Express | Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited | Not specified |
Notes
- ICICI Bank Rubyx American Express Credit Card: Condition: ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
ICICI Bank Rubyx American Express
Verify with issuer , opens external siteSBI Card Prime
Verify with issuer , opens external site