Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

HDFC UPI RuPay vs IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus

Side-by-side comparison of the HDFC Bank UPI RuPay and the IDFC FIRST Bank HPCL Power Plus. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

UPI RuPay

The short answer

Pick UPI RuPay for a lower fee and UPI payments.

Pick HPCL Power Plus for spending abroad.

UPI RuPay costs ₹400 less a year.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: UPI RuPay wins.
    UPI RuPay ₹99 Waivable at ₹25,000 spend
    HPCL Power Plus ₹499 Waivable at ₹1,50,000 spend
    UPI RuPay saves ₹400/yr
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: HPCL Power Plus wins.
    UPI RuPay 3.5%
    HPCL Power Plus 0%
    HPCL Power Plus saves ~₹3,500 per ₹1L abroad
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: insufficient data to compare.
    UPI RuPay No complimentary lounge access
    HPCL Power Plus 4/year (1 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 1/quarter · requires ₹20,000 spend in the previous month (unlocks the following month)
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: tie.
    UPI RuPay ~1%
    HPCL Power Plus ~1%
    conservative base value
  • UPI payments UPI payments outcome: UPI RuPay wins.
    UPI RuPay Supports UPI
    HPCL Power Plus No UPI support

Reward earning explained

UPI RuPay

1% · Up to 3% on Dining Grocery Supermarket

Strong data
HPCL Power Plus

1% · Up to 30 pts / ₹150 on HPCL

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • UPI RuPay: ~₹500/month at base rate
  • IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus: ~₹500/month at base rate

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field UPI RuPay HDFC Bank HPCL Power Plus IDFC FIRST Bank
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
spend-gated on some cards — see caveats
No complimentary lounge access vs 4/year (1 per quarter)
No complimentary lounge access 4/year (1 per quarter)
Forex / International Use
Forex markup
Source agreement differs — verify both.
3.5% vs 0%
3.5% 0%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹99 vs ₹499
₹99 ₹499
Annual-fee waiver
₹25,000 vs ₹1,50,000
₹25,000 ₹1,50,000
Interest-free period
Up to 50 days vs Up to 45 days
Up to 50 days Up to 45 days
Monthly interest rate
Only available for UPI RuPay
3.75% / month Not specified
Late-payment charge
Only available for UPI RuPay
₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance Not specified
Fuel benefit No surcharge waiver No surcharge waiver
Rewards
Base cashback 1% 1%
Earn ceiling
500 CashPoints per month vs 2,400 points per month; at 30 pts / ₹150, this lane reaches the cap at ₹12,000 of eligible spend
500 CashPoints per month 2,400 points per month at 30 pts / ₹150, this lane reaches the cap at ₹12,000 of eligible spend
Insurance — Personal accident cover
Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus
Not specified ₹2 lakh
Insurance — Lost card liability cover
Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus
Not specified ₹25,000
Insurance — Underwriter
Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus
Not specified Insured by New India Assurance

Notes

  • IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus Credit Card: Condition: ₹20,000 spend in the previous month (unlocks the following month)
  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.