Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus vs SBI Tata Neu Plus

Side-by-side comparison of the IDFC FIRST Bank HPCL Power Plus and the SBI Card Tata Neu Plus. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

Tata Neu Plus

The short answer

Pick HPCL Power Plus for spending abroad.

Pick Tata Neu Plus for UPI payments.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie.
    HPCL Power Plus ₹499 Waivable at ₹1,50,000 spend
    Tata Neu Plus ₹499 Waivable at ₹1,00,000 spend
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: HPCL Power Plus wins.
    HPCL Power Plus 0%
    Tata Neu Plus 3.5%
    HPCL Power Plus saves ~₹3,500 per ₹1L abroad
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: tie.
    HPCL Power Plus 4/year (1 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 1/quarter · requires ₹20,000 spend in the previous month (unlocks the following month)
    Tata Neu Plus 4/year (1 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 1/quarter · requires ₹50,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: tie.
    HPCL Power Plus ~1%
    Tata Neu Plus ~1%
    conservative base value
  • UPI payments UPI payments outcome: Tata Neu Plus wins.
    HPCL Power Plus No UPI support
    Tata Neu Plus Supports UPI

Reward earning explained

HPCL Power Plus

1% · Up to 30 pts / ₹150 on HPCL

Strong data
Tata Neu Plus

1 NeuCoins / ₹100 · Up to 5 NeuCoins / ₹100 on Tata Neu Select Accelerated

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus: ~₹500/month at base rate
  • Tata Neu Plus SBI Card: ~₹500/month at base rate

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field HPCL Power Plus IDFC FIRST Bank Tata Neu Plus SBI Card
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
spend-gated on some cards — see caveats
4/year (1 per quarter) 4/year (1 per quarter)
International lounge visits
Only available for Tata Neu Plus SBI Card
Not specified No international lounge access
Forex / International Use
Forex markup
Source agreement differs — verify both.
0% vs 3.5%
0% 3.5%
Fees
Recurring annual fee ₹499 ₹499
Annual-fee waiver
₹1,50,000 vs ₹1,00,000
₹1,50,000 ₹1,00,000
Interest-free period
Up to 45 days vs Up to 50 days
Up to 45 days Up to 50 days
Monthly interest rate
Only available for Tata Neu Plus SBI Card
Not specified 3.75% / month
Late-payment charge
Only available for Tata Neu Plus SBI Card
Not specified ₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance
Fuel benefit
Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus
No surcharge waiver Not specified
Rewards
Base earn
1% vs 1 NeuCoins / ₹100
1% 1 NeuCoins / ₹100
Conservative base value ~1% ~1%
Earn ceiling
2,400 points per month; at 30 pts / ₹150, this lane reaches the cap at ₹12,000 of eligible spend vs 1,000 NeuCoins per month; at 1 NeuCoins / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,00,000 of eligible spend
2,400 points per month at 30 pts / ₹150, this lane reaches the cap at ₹12,000 of eligible spend 1,000 NeuCoins per month at 1 NeuCoins / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,00,000 of eligible spend
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid.
Only available for Tata Neu Plus SBI Card
Not specified ₹1
Insurance — Personal accident cover
Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus
₹2 lakh Not specified
Insurance — Lost card liability cover
Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus
₹25,000 Not specified
Insurance — Underwriter
Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus
Insured by New India Assurance Not specified

Notes

  • IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus Credit Card: Condition: ₹20,000 spend in the previous month (unlocks the following month)
  • Tata Neu Plus SBI Card: Condition: ₹50,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.