2 CashPoints / ₹200 · 10 CashPoints/₹100 on eligible bigBasket, bookMyShow, oyo, swiggy, and uber
Strong data Pairwise comparison
Compare 3+ cards →
HDFC Freedom vs ICICI Coral RuPay
Side-by-side comparison of the HDFC Bank Freedom and the ICICI Bank Coral RuPay. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
Pick Coral RuPay for UPI payments.
Head-to-head
- Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie. Freedom ₹500 Waivable at ₹50,000 spendCoral RuPay ₹500 Waivable at ₹1,50,000 spend
- Forex markup Forex markup outcome: tie. Freedom 3.5%Coral RuPay 3.5%
- Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: insufficient data to compare. Freedom Not specifiedCoral RuPay 4/year (1 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 1/quarter · requires ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
- Rewards Rewards outcome: tie. conservative base valueFreedom ~0.1%Coral RuPay ~0.5%
- UPI payments UPI payments outcome: Coral RuPay wins. Freedom No UPI supportCoral RuPay Supports UPI
Reward earning explained
2 pts / ₹100
Limited dataExample usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- Coral RuPay: ~₹250/month at base rate
- Freedom: ~₹80/month at base rate
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
All fields
| Field | Freedom HDFC Bank | Coral RuPay ICICI Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits spend-gated on some cards — see caveats Only available for Coral RuPay | Not specified | 4/year (1 per quarter) |
| Railway lounge visits Only available for Coral RuPay | Not specified | 4 railway lounge visits per year (max 1/quarter) |
| International lounge visits Only available for Coral RuPay | Not specified | No international lounge access |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup | 3.5% | 3.5% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee | ₹500 | ₹500 |
| Annual-fee waiver ₹50,000 vs ₹1,50,000 | ₹50,000 | ₹1,50,000 |
| Interest-free period Up to 50 days vs Up to 48 days | Up to 50 days | Up to 48 days |
| Monthly interest rate | 3.75% / month | 3.75% / month |
| Late-payment charge | ₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance | ₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance |
| Fuel benefit 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹5,000 transactions · ₹250/month waiver cap vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · Fuel rewards excluded | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹5,000 transactions · ₹250/month waiver cap | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · Fuel rewards excluded |
| Rewards | ||
| Base earn 2 CashPoints / ₹200 vs 2 pts / ₹100 | 2 CashPoints / ₹200 | 2 pts / ₹100 |
| Conservative base value ~0.1% vs ~0.5% | ~0.1% | ~0.5% |
| Earn ceiling 15,000 CashPoints per statement cycle; at 2 CashPoints / ₹200, this lane reaches the cap at ₹15,00,000 of eligible spend vs Eligible spend capped at ₹20,000 per statement cycle | 15,000 CashPoints per statement cycle at 2 CashPoints / ₹200, this lane reaches the cap at ₹15,00,000 of eligible spend | Eligible spend capped at ₹20,000 per statement cycle |
| Point value (headline channel) Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid. ₹0.15 vs ₹0.25 | ₹0.15 | ₹0.25 |
| Point validity 2 years vs 3 years | 2 years | 3 years |
Notes
- ICICI Bank Coral RuPay Credit Card: Condition: ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
HDFC Bank Freedom
Verify with issuer , opens external siteICICI Bank Coral RuPay
Verify with issuer , opens external site