Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

HDFC Diners Club Black vs FEDERAL Scapia

Side-by-side comparison of the HDFC Bank Diners Club Black and the Federal Bank Scapia. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

Scapia

The short answer

Pick Scapia for rewards and spending abroad.

Scapia costs ₹10,000 less a year.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie.
    Diners Club Black ₹10,000 Waivable at ₹5,00,000 spend
    Scapia ₹0
    ₹10,000/yr apart · waiver gates differ
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: Scapia wins.
    Diners Club Black 2%
    Scapia 0%
    Scapia saves ~₹2,000 per ₹1L abroad
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: tie.
    Diners Club Black Unlimited
    Scapia Unlimited Conditional · Domestic: Unlimited · requires ₹20,000 spend in a billing cycle (unlocks after the billing date)
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: Scapia wins.
    Diners Club Black ~1%
    Scapia ~2%
    conservative base value

Reward earning explained

Diners Club Black

5 pts / ₹150

Strong data
Scapia

10 Scapia Coins / ₹100 on domestic spend

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • Federal Bank Scapia: ~₹1,000/month at base rate
  • Diners Club Black: ~₹500/month at base rate

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field Diners Club Black HDFC Bank Scapia Federal Bank
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
spend-gated on some cards — see caveats
Unlimited Unlimited
International lounge visits
Only available for Diners Club Black
Unlimited Not specified
Forex / International Use
Forex markup
2% vs 0%
2% 0%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹10,000 vs ₹0
₹10,000 ₹0
Annual-fee waiver
Only available for Diners Club Black
₹5,00,000 Not specified
Interest-free period
Up to 50 days vs Up to 48 days
Up to 50 days Up to 48 days
Monthly interest rate
Only available for Federal Bank Scapia
Not specified 3.75% / month
Late-payment charge
Only available for Diners Club Black
₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance Not specified
Fuel benefit
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400+ transactions · ₹1,000/month waiver cap · Fuel rewards excluded vs 1% surcharge waiver · up to ₹5,000 transactions · ₹500/month waiver cap · Fuel rewards excluded
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400+ transactions · ₹1,000/month waiver cap · Fuel rewards excluded 1% surcharge waiver · up to ₹5,000 transactions · ₹500/month waiver cap · Fuel rewards excluded
Rewards
Base earn
Some reward lanes are only partially modelled — base rate only for comparison.
5 pts / ₹150 vs 10 Scapia Coins / ₹100 on domestic spend
5 pts / ₹150 10 Scapia Coins / ₹100 on domestic spend
Conservative base value
~1% vs ~2%
~1% ~2%
Earn ceiling
75,000 points per month; at 5 pts / ₹150, this lane reaches the cap at ₹22,50,000 of eligible spend vs Not stated
75,000 points per month at 5 pts / ₹150, this lane reaches the cap at ₹22,50,000 of eligible spend Not stated
Payment network rates
Only available for Federal Bank Scapia
Not specified RuPay: 5 Scapia Coins / ₹100 · Credited as reward points · Min ₹500 per transaction
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline rate at the travel/SmartBuy channel — not the lowest redemption option.
₹1 vs ₹0.2
₹1 ₹0.2
Point validity
Only available for Diners Club Black
3 years Not specified
Insurance — Air accident cover
Only available for Diners Club Black
₹2 crore Not specified
Insurance — Emergency medical cover
Only available for Diners Club Black
₹50 lakh Not specified
Insurance — Lost card liability cover
Only available for Diners Club Black
₹9 lakh Not specified
Insurance — Underwriter
Only available for Diners Club Black
Insured by HDFC ERGO General Insurance Company Limited Not specified

Notes

  • Federal Bank Scapia Credit Card: Condition: ₹20,000 spend in a billing cycle (unlocks after the billing date)
  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.