STANDARD-CHARTERED

Standard Chartered Bank India Ultimate Credit Card

Good for frequent travelers who value lounge access and low forex.

Should you get this?

Conditional fit

Confirm terms with the issuer

Why this card

  • Forex markup is low at 2%.
  • 4 per quarter domestic + 1 per month international.
  • You spend in the card's stronger reward categories.
Issuer evidence · 12 sources →

Trade-off

Welcome benefit details not verified

Annual fee ₹5,000 per year
Rewards 5 pts / ₹150
Lounge access 4 domestic (4 per quarter) + 1 intl (1 per month)
Forex markup 2% low

Rewards


Earning rules

Detail · from the summary above
ScopeRateEligibilityLimit
General spend5 pts / ₹150Credited as reward pointsNot stated
Government services3 pts / ₹150Credited as reward pointsNot stated
Insurance3 pts / ₹150Credited as reward pointsNot stated
Rent3 pts / ₹150Credited as reward pointsNot stated
Show all 7 earning rules (3 more)
Education3 pts / ₹150Credited as reward pointsNot stated
Groceries3 pts / ₹150Credited as reward pointsNot stated
Utilities3 pts / ₹150Credited as reward pointsNot stated

Redemption value

What a Reward Point is worth

  1. Catalogue₹1 / pt

    ₹99 redemption fee

When does this card pay for itself?

Rewards break-even estimate
₹1.5L

Conservative yearly spend needed at the ₹1-per-point ranking floor.

Reward reality — the earning-rate detail behind the numbers above

Reward reality

Conclusion · what you actually get

Eligible spend

5 points per ₹150 on eligible spend

Verified value

₹1 per point

Catalogue

Realisation

Credited as reward points

Reported reward terms

Evidence · not used in rates or comparisons

Reported category terms

Utilities
3 points per ₹150Domestic & international

Reported by secondary sources · verify with issuer1 other source

Evidence only · excluded from decisions

Costs & fees


Spending requirements

Spend gates · caps · milestone thresholds
RequirementAmountPeriodUnlocks
International lounge spend gate₹20,000monthLounge eligibility

Watch outs

Before choosing this card
  • Annual fee is ₹5,000, so value depends on actual usage.

Estimated usage

Example usage at this monthly spend

  • At this monthly spend, you'd earn: Based on the standard earn rate (5 pts / ₹150). Up to ~1,670 pts/month if the entire spend qualifies. Excluded transactions and category rules earn less. Partner bonuses aren't included.
  • Worth ~₹1,670 at the conservative redemption floor
  • Annual-fee waiver not offered by issuer
  • Forex cost ~₹1,000 per ₹50k international spend

Illustrative only, using current base rates and snapshot data.

Benefits & charges

Side-by-side facts
Benefits

Lounge Access

Domestic (cardholder)
4 per quarter — via Standard Chartered Bank India lounge programme · verified 31 Aug 2026
International (cardholder)
1 per month Requires Priority Pass card · Condition: ₹20,000 spend in the previous month (unlocks the following month)

Issuer documented · corroborating sources · verify issuer terms before applying

Where to verify

Rewards

Base earn
5 points per ₹150 value depends on redemption
Effective return (honest floor)
~3.333% base (conservative redemption) · verified 7 Jul 2026 Conservative redemption floor; best documented path is not ranked on.
Headline point value
₹1.00 per Reward Point (Catalogue) · verified 7 Jul 2026 Operator-verified headline rate — full channel grid in Redemption value.
Fees & charges

Fees

Monthly interest rate
3.75% / month
Annual fee
₹5,000
Joining fee
₹5,000 · verified 7 Jul 2026
Annual-fee waiver
Not offered
Interest-free period
Up to 48 days

International Use

Forex markup
2%

Issuer documented · corroborating sources · verify issuer terms before applying

Where to verify
Product tier
Premium

Travel & perks


Fuel Benefits

At the pump

No verified fuel benefit available.

Fine print & compare


Compare with similar cards

Similar tier · similar benefits

The fine print

Caps · exclusions · earning · redemption · last refresh

Exclusions

These spends do not earn reward points.

Financial

  • Fuel

Redemption & expiry

  • Voucher redemption: ₹99 redemption fee per redemption

Latest update

  • Annual fee: ₹5,000.
  • Forex markup currently listed at 2%.
  • 4 per quarter domestic lounge · 1 per month international.

Common questions

From verified card facts

Is this good for lounge access?

4 per quarter domestic + 1 per month international. Check current spend criteria, guest rules, visit caps, and airport acceptance before relying on it.

Is this good for international spends?

Forex markup is 2%, which can be useful for international spends if the annual fee and usage pattern still make sense.

Is the annual fee easy to recover?

₹5,000 every year. The issuer does not offer an annual-fee waiver.

When do welcome benefits arrive?

Legacy data contains a possible welcome-benefit signal, but the benefit item, qualification, and fulfilment are not verified. Check the issuer welcome email, MITC, and current offer page before relying on it.

Learn

Learn more

Guides matched to this card — not a random syllabus.

All guides →