Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

HDFC Platinum Times vs HSBC Live+

Side-by-side comparison of the HDFC Bank Platinum Times and the HSBC India Live+. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

Live+

The short answer

Pick Live+ for rewards, spending abroad and a lower fee.

Live+ costs ₹1 less a year.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: Live+ wins.
    Platinum Times ₹1,000 Waivable at ₹2,50,000 spend
    Live+ ₹999 Waivable at ₹2,00,000 spend
    Live+ saves ₹1/yr
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: Live+ wins.
    Platinum Times 3.5%
    Live+ 1.99%
    Live+ saves ~₹1,510 per ₹1L abroad
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: insufficient data to compare.
    Platinum Times Not specified
    Live+ 2/year
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: Live+ wins.
    Platinum Times ~0.5%
    Live+ ~1.5%
    conservative base value

Reward earning explained

Platinum Times

3 pts / ₹150 · Up to 10 pts / ₹150 on Dining

Strong data
Live+

1.5% on domestic spend · 10% on eligible dining, food delivery, grocery, and utilities

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • HSBC Live+: ~₹750/month at base rate
  • Platinum Times: ~₹250/month at base rate

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field Platinum Times HDFC Bank Live+ HSBC India
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
Only available for HSBC Live+
Not specified 2/year
International lounge visits
Only available for HSBC Live+
Not specified 1 per year
Forex / International Use
Forex markup
3.5% vs 1.99%
3.5% 1.99%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹1,000 vs ₹999
₹1,000 ₹999
Annual-fee waiver
₹2,50,000 vs ₹2,00,000
₹2,50,000 ₹2,00,000
Interest-free period
Only available for Platinum Times
Up to 50 days Not specified
Monthly interest rate 3.75% / month 3.75% / month
Late-payment charge
Only available for Platinum Times
₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance Not specified
Fuel benefit
Only available for Platinum Times
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹5,000 transactions · ₹500/month waiver cap Not specified
Rewards
Base earn
Some reward lanes are unsupported — base rate only for comparison.
3 pts / ₹150 vs 1.5% on domestic spend
3 pts / ₹150 1.5% on domestic spend
Conservative base value
~0.5% vs ~1.5%
~0.5% ~1.5%
Earn ceiling
2,000 points per day; at 3 pts / ₹150, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,00,000 of eligible spend vs ₹1,200 per month — shared across Dining, Food delivery, Grocery, Shopping & Utilities
2,000 points per day at 3 pts / ₹150, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,00,000 of eligible spend ₹1,200 per month — shared across Dining, Food delivery, Grocery, Shopping & Utilities
Point validity
Only available for Platinum Times
2 years Not specified

Notes

  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.