Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

HDFC Freedom vs HSBC Live+

Side-by-side comparison of the HDFC Bank Freedom and the HSBC India Live+. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

Freedom
Live+

The short answer

Pick Freedom for a lower fee.

Pick Live+ for rewards and spending abroad.

Freedom costs ₹499 less a year.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: Freedom wins.
    Freedom ₹500 Waivable at ₹50,000 spend
    Live+ ₹999 Waivable at ₹2,00,000 spend
    Freedom saves ₹499/yr
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: Live+ wins.
    Freedom 3.5%
    Live+ 1.99%
    Live+ saves ~₹1,510 per ₹1L abroad
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: insufficient data to compare.
    Freedom Not specified
    Live+ 2/year
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: Live+ wins.
    Freedom ~0.1%
    Live+ ~1.5%
    conservative base value

Reward earning explained

Freedom

2 CashPoints / ₹200 · 10 CashPoints/₹100 on eligible bigBasket, bookMyShow, oyo, swiggy, and uber

Strong data
Live+

1.5% on domestic spend · 10% on eligible dining, food delivery, grocery, and utilities

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • HSBC Live+: ~₹750/month at base rate
  • Freedom: ~₹80/month at base rate

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field Freedom HDFC Bank Live+ HSBC India
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
Only available for HSBC Live+
Not specified 2/year
International lounge visits
Only available for HSBC Live+
Not specified 1 per year
Forex / International Use
Forex markup
Source agreement differs — verify both.
3.5% vs 1.99%
3.5% 1.99%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹500 vs ₹999
₹500 ₹999
Annual-fee waiver
₹50,000 vs ₹2,00,000
₹50,000 ₹2,00,000
Interest-free period
Only available for Freedom
Up to 50 days Not specified
Monthly interest rate 3.75% / month 3.75% / month
Late-payment charge
Only available for Freedom
₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance Not specified
Fuel benefit
Only available for Freedom
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹5,000 transactions · ₹250/month waiver cap Not specified
Rewards
Base earn
Some reward lanes are unsupported — base rate only for comparison.
2 CashPoints / ₹200 vs 1.5% on domestic spend
2 CashPoints / ₹200 1.5% on domestic spend
Conservative base value
~0.1% vs ~1.5%
~0.1% ~1.5%
Earn ceiling
15,000 CashPoints per statement cycle; at 2 CashPoints / ₹200, this lane reaches the cap at ₹15,00,000 of eligible spend vs ₹1,200 per month — shared across Dining, Food delivery, Grocery, Shopping & Utilities
15,000 CashPoints per statement cycle at 2 CashPoints / ₹200, this lane reaches the cap at ₹15,00,000 of eligible spend ₹1,200 per month — shared across Dining, Food delivery, Grocery, Shopping & Utilities
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline rate at the travel/SmartBuy channel — not the lowest redemption option.
Only available for Freedom
₹0.15 Not specified
Point validity
Only available for Freedom
2 years Not specified

Notes

  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.