Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

HDFC Diners Club Black vs SBI ELITE

Side-by-side comparison of the HDFC Bank Diners Club Black and the SBI Card ELITE. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

ELITE

The short answer

Pick Diners Club Black for lounge access and rewards.

ELITE costs ₹5,001 less a year but waives only at ₹10,00,000 spend, Diners Club Black at ₹5,00,000.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: tie.
    Diners Club Black ₹10,000 Waivable at ₹5,00,000 spend
    ELITE ₹4,999 Waivable at ₹10,00,000 spend
    ₹5,001/yr apart · waiver gates differ
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: tie.
    Diners Club Black 2%
    ELITE 1.99%
    Tie
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: Diners Club Black wins.
    Diners Club Black Unlimited
    ELITE 8/year
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: Diners Club Black wins.
    Diners Club Black ~1%
    ELITE ~0.5%
    conservative base value

Reward earning explained

Diners Club Black

5 pts / ₹150

Strong data
ELITE

2 pts / ₹100 · Up to 10 pts / ₹100 on Dining Departmental Grocery

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • Diners Club Black: ~₹500/month at base rate
  • SBI ELITE: ~₹250/month at base rate

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field Diners Club Black HDFC Bank ELITE SBI Card
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
Unlimited vs 8/year
Unlimited 8/year
International lounge visits
Unlimited vs 6 per year
Unlimited 6 per year
Forex / International Use
Forex markup
Same forex; compare fee and lounge rows.
2% vs 1.99%
2% 1.99%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹10,000 vs ₹4,999
₹10,000 ₹4,999
Annual-fee waiver
₹5,00,000 vs ₹10,00,000
₹5,00,000 ₹10,00,000
Monthly interest rate
Only available for SBI ELITE
Not specified 3.75% / month
Late-payment charge
Only available for Diners Club Black
₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance Not specified
Fuel benefit
Only available for Diners Club Black
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400+ transactions · ₹1,000/month waiver cap · Fuel rewards excluded Not specified
Rewards
Base earn
5 pts / ₹150 vs 2 pts / ₹100
5 pts / ₹150 2 pts / ₹100
Conservative base value
~1% vs ~0.5%
~1% ~0.5%
Earn ceiling
75,000 points per month; at 5 pts / ₹150, this lane reaches the cap at ₹22,50,000 of eligible spend vs 10,000 points per calendar month; at 10 pts / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,00,000 of eligible spend
75,000 points per month at 5 pts / ₹150, this lane reaches the cap at ₹22,50,000 of eligible spend 10,000 points per calendar month at 10 pts / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,00,000 of eligible spend
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid.
₹1 vs ₹0.25
₹1 ₹0.25
Point validity
3 years vs 2 years
3 years 2 years
Insurance — Air accident cover
Only available for Diners Club Black
₹2 crore Not specified
Insurance — Emergency medical cover
Only available for Diners Club Black
₹50 lakh Not specified
Insurance — Lost card liability cover
Only available for Diners Club Black
₹9 lakh Not specified
Insurance — Underwriter
Only available for Diners Club Black
Insured by HDFC ERGO General Insurance Company Limited Not specified

Notes

  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.