7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100
Strong dataAxis Bank Burgundy Private vs ICICI Bank Times Black Credit Cards – Fees, Lounge, Forex
Side-by-side comparison of the Axis Bank Burgundy Private and the ICICI Bank Times Black. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
VerdictPick Burgundy Private for travel, spending abroad and rewards.
Head-to-head
Three core metrics- Annual fee Times Black saves ₹30,000/yrBurgundy Private ₹50,000 Annual-fee waiver not offeredTimes Black ₹20,000 Waivable at ₹25,00,000 spend
- Forex markup Burgundy Private saves ~₹1,490 per ₹1L abroadBurgundy Private 0%Times Black 1.49%
- Domestic lounge Burgundy Private UnlimitedTimes Black Unlimited
Reward earning explained
Per card2 pts / ₹100
Strong dataPick based on what matters
4 dimensionsStart with the constraint you care about most: annual fee (Axis Bank Burgundy Private: ₹50,000 vs ICICI Bank Times Black: ₹20,000), forex markup (0% vs 1.49%), or lounge access (Unlimited vs Unlimited).
-
Travel Axis Bank Burgundy Private wins Axis Bank Burgundy Private is better for travel
Axis Bank Burgundy Private is stronger here. Forex markup is 0%.
-
Forex markup Axis Bank Burgundy Private wins Axis Bank Burgundy Private is better for forex
Axis Bank Burgundy Private is stronger here. Forex markup is 0%.
-
Lounge access Tie Both cards are similar for lounge access
Domestic lounge access is unlimited.
-
Rewards Axis Bank Burgundy Private wins Axis Bank Burgundy Private is better for rewards
Axis Bank Burgundy Private is stronger here. Axis Bank Burgundy Private conservative base value ~1.5% vs ICICI Bank Times Black's ~0.8%.
All fields
Example usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- Burgundy Private: ~₹750/month at base rate
- Times Black ICICI Bank: ~₹400/month at base rate
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
| Field | Burgundy Private Axis Bank | Times Black ICICI Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Insurance — Air accident cover Only available for Times Black ICICI Bank | Not specified | ₹3 crore |
| Insurance — Lost card liability cover Only available for Times Black ICICI Bank | Not specified | ₹50,000 |
| Insurance — Underwriter Only available for Times Black ICICI Bank | Not specified | Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited |
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| International lounge visits | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup Source agreement differs — verify both. 0% vs 1.49% | 0% | 1.49% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee ₹50,000 vs ₹20,000 | ₹50,000 | ₹20,000 |
| Annual-fee waiver Not offered vs ₹25,00,000 | Not offered | ₹25,00,000 |
| Interest-free period Up to 50 days vs Up to 48 days | Up to 50 days | Up to 48 days |
| Monthly interest rate 1.5% / month vs 3.75% / month | 1.5% / month | 3.75% / month |
| Fuel benefit 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap vs 1% surcharge waiver · up to ₹4,000 transactions | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap | 1% surcharge waiver · up to ₹4,000 transactions |
| Rewards | ||
| Points per ₹100 7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 vs 2 pts / ₹100 | 7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 | 2 pts / ₹100 |
| Conservative base value ~1.5% vs ~0.8% | ~1.5% | ~0.8% |
| Earn ceiling 6,000 EDGE Reward Points per month; at 7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹80,000 of eligible spend vs Not stated | 6,000 EDGE Reward Points per month; at 7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹80,000 of eligible spend | Not stated |
| Point value (headline channel) Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid. Only available for Times Black ICICI Bank | Not specified | ₹0.4 |
Notes
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
Axis Bank Burgundy Private
Verify with issuer , opens external siteICICI Bank Times Black
Verify with issuer , opens external site