Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

Axis Bank Burgundy Private vs HSBC India Premier Credit Cards – Fees, Lounge, Forex

Side-by-side comparison of the Axis Bank Burgundy Private and the HSBC India Premier. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

Premier

The short answer

Verdict

Pick Burgundy Private for travel, spending abroad and lounge access.

Head-to-head

Three core metrics
  • Annual fee
    Burgundy Private ₹50,000 Annual-fee waiver not offered
    Premier ₹20,000 Annual-fee waiver not offered
    Premier saves ₹30,000/yr
  • Forex markup
    Burgundy Private 0%
    Premier 0.99%
    Burgundy Private saves ~₹990 per ₹1L abroad
  • Domestic lounge
    Burgundy Private Unlimited
    Premier 24/year (6 per quarter)
    Burgundy Private has unlimited domestic visits

Reward earning explained

Per card
Burgundy Private

7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100

Strong data
Premier

3 pts / ₹100 · Up to 36 pts / ₹100 on Hsbc Travel With Points Hotels

Strong data

Pick based on what matters

4 dimensions

Start with the constraint you care about most: annual fee (Axis Bank Burgundy Private: ₹50,000 vs HSBC India Premier: ₹20,000), forex markup (0% vs 0.99%), or lounge access (Unlimited vs 24/year (6 per quarter)).

  • Travel Axis Bank Burgundy Private wins

    Axis Bank Burgundy Private is better for travel

    Axis Bank Burgundy Private is stronger here. Axis Bank Burgundy Private is cheaper for international spend (0% vs 0.99% forex).

  • Forex markup Axis Bank Burgundy Private wins

    Axis Bank Burgundy Private is better for forex

    Axis Bank Burgundy Private is stronger here. Axis Bank Burgundy Private has a lower forex markup (0% vs 0.99%).

  • Lounge access Axis Bank Burgundy Private wins

    Axis Bank Burgundy Private is better for lounge access

    Axis Bank Burgundy Private is stronger here. Axis Bank Burgundy Private offers unlimited domestic lounge visits versus 24 per year.

  • Rewards Insufficient data

    Insufficient data to compare rewards

    Available evidence is incomplete: Axis Bank Burgundy Private conservative base value ~1.5% per ₹100. HSBC India Premier is not safely INR-comparable (no usable point value).

    Burgundy Private: Strong data Premier: Strong data

All fields

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • Burgundy Private: ~₹750/month at base rate
  • HSBC Premier: Base earn not clearly specified

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

Field Burgundy Private Axis Bank Premier HSBC India
Insurance — Lost card liability cover
Only available for HSBC Premier
Not specified ₹3 lakh
Insurance — Underwriter
Only available for HSBC Premier
Not specified Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
Unlimited vs 24/year (6 per quarter)
Unlimited 24/year (6 per quarter)
International lounge visits
Unlimited vs 2 per year
Unlimited 2 per year
Forex / International Use
Forex markup
Source agreement differs — verify both.
0% vs 0.99%
0% 0.99%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹50,000 vs ₹20,000
₹50,000 ₹20,000
Annual-fee waiver Not offered Not offered
Interest-free period
Only available for Burgundy Private
Up to 50 days Not specified
Monthly interest rate
1.5% / month vs 2.99% / month
1.5% / month 2.99% / month
Fuel benefit
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions
Rewards
Points per ₹100
7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 vs 3 pts / ₹100
7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 3 pts / ₹100
Conservative base value
~1.5% vs Not safely INR-comparable
~1.5% Not safely INR-comparable
Earn ceiling
6,000 EDGE Reward Points per month; at 7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹80,000 of eligible spend vs 18,000 points per month — shared across Hsbc Travel With Points Cars, Hsbc Travel With Points Flights & Hsbc Travel With Points Hotels
6,000 EDGE Reward Points per month; at 7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹80,000 of eligible spend 18,000 points per month — shared across Hsbc Travel With Points Cars, Hsbc Travel With Points Flights & Hsbc Travel With Points Hotels

Notes

  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.