Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

AMEX SmartEarn vs IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus

Side-by-side comparison of the American Express SmartEarn and the IDFC FIRST Bank HPCL Power Plus. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

SmartEarn

The short answer

Pick SmartEarn for a lower fee.

Pick HPCL Power Plus for rewards and spending abroad.

SmartEarn costs ₹4 less a year.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: SmartEarn wins.
    SmartEarn ₹495 Waivable at ₹40,000 spend
    HPCL Power Plus ₹499 Waivable at ₹1,50,000 spend
    SmartEarn saves ₹4/yr
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: HPCL Power Plus wins.
    SmartEarn 3.5%
    HPCL Power Plus 0%
    HPCL Power Plus saves ~₹3,500 per ₹1L abroad
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: insufficient data to compare.
    SmartEarn No complimentary lounge access
    HPCL Power Plus 4/year (1 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 1/quarter · requires ₹20,000 spend in the previous month (unlocks the following month)
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: HPCL Power Plus wins.
    SmartEarn ~0.5%
    HPCL Power Plus ~1%
    conservative base value

Reward earning explained

SmartEarn

2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 · 20 Membership Rewards Points/₹100 on eligible blinkit, bookMyShow, easeMyTrip, flipkart, myntra, nykaa, select 10X partners, uber, and zomato

Strong data
HPCL Power Plus

1% · Up to 30 pts / ₹150 on HPCL

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus: ~₹500/month at base rate
  • American Express SmartEarn: ~₹250/month at base rate

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field SmartEarn American Express HPCL Power Plus IDFC FIRST Bank
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
spend-gated on some cards — see caveats
No complimentary lounge access vs 4/year (1 per quarter)
No complimentary lounge access 4/year (1 per quarter)
Forex / International Use
Forex markup
Source agreement differs — verify both.
3.5% vs 0%
3.5% 0%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹495 vs ₹499
₹495 ₹499
Annual-fee waiver
₹40,000 vs ₹1,50,000
₹40,000 ₹1,50,000
Interest-free period
Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus
Not specified Up to 45 days
Monthly interest rate
Only available for American Express SmartEarn
3.5% / month Not specified
Fuel benefit
1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded vs No surcharge waiver
1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded No surcharge waiver
Rewards
Base earn
2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 vs 1%
2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 1%
Conservative base value
~0.5% vs ~1%
~0.5% ~1%
Earn ceiling
500 Membership Rewards Points per month; at 20 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹2,500 of eligible spend vs 2,400 points per month; at 30 pts / ₹150, this lane reaches the cap at ₹12,000 of eligible spend
500 Membership Rewards Points per month at 20 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹2,500 of eligible spend 2,400 points per month at 30 pts / ₹150, this lane reaches the cap at ₹12,000 of eligible spend
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid.
Only available for American Express SmartEarn
₹0.25 Not specified
Point validity
Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus
Not specified 2 years
Insurance — Personal accident cover
Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus
Not specified ₹2 lakh
Insurance — Lost card liability cover
Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus
Not specified ₹25,000
Insurance — Underwriter
Only available for IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus
Not specified Insured by New India Assurance

Notes

  • IDFC FIRST HPCL Power Plus Credit Card: Condition: ₹20,000 spend in the previous month (unlocks the following month)
  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.