Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

AMEX SmartEarn vs HDFC Tata Neu Plus RuPay

Side-by-side comparison of the American Express SmartEarn and the HDFC Bank Tata Neu Plus RuPay. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

SmartEarn

The short answer

Pick SmartEarn for a lower fee.

Pick Tata Neu Plus RuPay for rewards and UPI payments.

SmartEarn costs ₹4 less a year.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: SmartEarn wins.
    SmartEarn ₹495 Waivable at ₹40,000 spend
    Tata Neu Plus RuPay ₹499 Waivable at ₹1,00,000 spend
    SmartEarn saves ₹4/yr
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: tie.
    SmartEarn 3.5%
    Tata Neu Plus RuPay 3.5%
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: insufficient data to compare.
    SmartEarn No complimentary lounge access
    Tata Neu Plus RuPay 4/year (1 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 1/quarter · requires ₹50,000 spend in the calendar quarter
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: Tata Neu Plus RuPay wins.
    SmartEarn ~0.5%
    Tata Neu Plus RuPay ~1%
    conservative base value
  • UPI payments UPI payments outcome: Tata Neu Plus RuPay wins.
    SmartEarn No UPI support
    Tata Neu Plus RuPay Supports UPI

Reward earning explained

SmartEarn

2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 · 20 Membership Rewards Points/₹100 on eligible blinkit, bookMyShow, easeMyTrip, flipkart, myntra, nykaa, select 10X partners, uber, and zomato

Strong data
Tata Neu Plus RuPay

1 NeuCoins / ₹100 · 2 NeuCoins/₹100 on eligible bigBasket, croma, cult.fit, and tata CLiQ

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • Tata Neu Plus HDFC Bank: ~₹500/month at base rate
  • American Express SmartEarn: ~₹250/month at base rate

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field SmartEarn American Express Tata Neu Plus RuPay HDFC Bank
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
spend-gated on some cards — see caveats
No complimentary lounge access vs 4/year (1 per quarter)
No complimentary lounge access 4/year (1 per quarter)
International lounge visits
Only available for Tata Neu Plus HDFC Bank
Not specified No international lounge access
Forex / International Use
Forex markup 3.5% 3.5%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹495 vs ₹499
₹495 ₹499
Annual-fee waiver
₹40,000 vs ₹1,00,000
₹40,000 ₹1,00,000
Interest-free period
Only available for Tata Neu Plus HDFC Bank
Not specified Up to 50 days
Monthly interest rate
Only available for American Express SmartEarn
3.5% / month Not specified
Late-payment charge
Only available for Tata Neu Plus HDFC Bank
Not specified ₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance
Fuel benefit
1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹5,000 transactions · ₹250/month waiver cap
1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹5,000 transactions · ₹250/month waiver cap
Rewards
Points per ₹100
2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 vs 1 NeuCoins / ₹100
2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 1 NeuCoins / ₹100
Conservative base value
~0.5% vs ~1%
~0.5% ~1%
Earn ceiling
500 Membership Rewards Points per month; at 20 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹2,500 of eligible spend vs 1,000 NeuCoins per month; at 1 NeuCoins / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,00,000 of eligible spend
500 Membership Rewards Points per month at 20 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹2,500 of eligible spend 1,000 NeuCoins per month at 1 NeuCoins / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,00,000 of eligible spend
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid.
₹0.25 vs ₹1
₹0.25 ₹1
Point validity
Only available for Tata Neu Plus HDFC Bank
Not specified 2 years

Notes

  • HDFC Tata Neu Plus HDFC Bank Credit Card: Condition: ₹50,000 spend in the calendar quarter
  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.