Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

AMEX SmartEarn vs ICICI HPCL Super Saver

Side-by-side comparison of the American Express SmartEarn and the ICICI Bank HPCL Super Saver. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

SmartEarn

The short answer

Pick SmartEarn for a lower fee.

SmartEarn costs ₹5 less a year.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: SmartEarn wins.
    SmartEarn ₹495 Waivable at ₹40,000 spend
    HPCL Super Saver ₹500 Waivable at ₹1,50,000 or more spend
    SmartEarn saves ₹5/yr
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: tie.
    SmartEarn 3.5%
    HPCL Super Saver 3.5%
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: insufficient data to compare.
    SmartEarn No complimentary lounge access
    HPCL Super Saver 4/year (1 per quarter) Conditional · Domestic: 1/quarter · requires ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: insufficient data to compare.
    SmartEarn ~0.5%
    HPCL Super Saver Not safely INR-comparable
    conservative base value
    SmartEarn: Strong data HPCL Super Saver: Strong data

Reward earning explained

SmartEarn

2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 · 20 Membership Rewards Points/₹100 on eligible blinkit, bookMyShow, easeMyTrip, flipkart, myntra, nykaa, select 10X partners, uber, and zomato

Strong data
HPCL Super Saver

2 pts / ₹100 · 20 points/₹100 on eligible departmental Stores, grocery, and utilities

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • American Express SmartEarn: ~₹250/month at base rate
  • HPCL Super Saver: Base earn not clearly specified

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field SmartEarn American Express HPCL Super Saver ICICI Bank
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits
spend-gated on some cards — see caveats
No complimentary lounge access vs 4/year (1 per quarter)
No complimentary lounge access 4/year (1 per quarter)
International lounge visits
Only available for HPCL Super Saver
Not specified No international lounge access
Forex / International Use
Forex markup 3.5% 3.5%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹495 vs ₹500
₹495 ₹500
First-year cost
Only available for HPCL Super Saver
Not specified ₹500
Annual-fee waiver
₹40,000 vs ₹1,50,000 or more
₹40,000 ₹1,50,000 or more
Interest-free period
Only available for HPCL Super Saver
Not specified Up to 48 days
Monthly interest rate
3.5% / month vs 3.75% / month
3.5% / month 3.75% / month
Late-payment charge
Only available for HPCL Super Saver
Not specified ₹100–₹1,300 depending on outstanding balance
Fuel benefit
1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions
1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions · Fuel rewards excluded 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions
Rewards
Points per ₹100
2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 vs 2 pts / ₹100
2 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 2 pts / ₹100
Conservative base value
~0.5% vs Not safely INR-comparable
~0.5% Not safely INR-comparable
Earn ceiling
500 Membership Rewards Points per month; at 20 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹2,500 of eligible spend vs 400 points per month — shared across Departmental Stores, Grocery & Utilities
500 Membership Rewards Points per month at 20 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹2,500 of eligible spend 400 points per month — shared across Departmental Stores, Grocery & Utilities
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid.
Only available for American Express SmartEarn
₹0.25 Not specified
Point validity
Only available for HPCL Super Saver
Not specified 3 years

Notes

  • ICICI Bank HPCL Super Saver Credit Card: Condition: ₹75,000 spend in the previous calendar quarter (unlocks the following quarter)
  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.