2.5 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 · 12.5 Membership Rewards Points/₹100 on eligible makeMyTrip and tata CLiQ
Strong data Pairwise comparison
Compare 3+ cards →
AMEX Platinum Charge Card vs AXIS Burgundy Private
Side-by-side comparison of the American Express Platinum Charge Card and the Axis Bank Burgundy Private. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.
The short answer
Pick Burgundy Private for spending abroad.
Head-to-head
- Annual fee Annual fee outcome: insufficient data to compare. Platinum Charge Card ₹66,000 Annual-fee waiver not offeredBurgundy Private Not specified
- Forex markup Forex markup outcome: Burgundy Private wins. Burgundy Private saves ~₹3,500 per ₹1L abroadPlatinum Charge Card 3.5%Burgundy Private 0%
- Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: tie. Platinum Charge Card UnlimitedBurgundy Private Unlimited
- Rewards Rewards outcome: insufficient data to compare. conservative base valuePlatinum Charge Card Not safely INR-comparableBurgundy Private ~1.5%
Reward earning explained
7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100
Strong dataExample usage at this monthly spend
At ₹50k/month spend:
- Burgundy Private: ~₹750/month at base rate
- American Express Platinum Charge Card: Base earn not clearly specified
Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.
All fields
| Field | Platinum Charge Card American Express | Burgundy Private Axis Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Lounge Access | ||
| Domestic lounge visits | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| International lounge visits | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Forex / International Use | ||
| Forex markup 3.5% vs 0% | 3.5% | 0% |
| Fees | ||
| Recurring annual fee Only available for American Express Platinum Charge Card | ₹66,000 | Not specified |
| Annual-fee waiver Only available for American Express Platinum Charge Card | Not offered | Not specified |
| Interest-free period Only available for Burgundy Private | Not specified | Up to 50 days |
| Monthly interest rate Only available for Burgundy Private | Not specified | 1.5% / month |
| Fuel benefit 1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹5,000+ transactions | 1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹4,000 transactions · ₹400/month waiver cap |
| Rewards | ||
| Points per ₹100 2.5 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 vs 7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 | 2.5 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100 | 7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100 |
| Conservative base value Not safely INR-comparable vs ~1.5% | Not safely INR-comparable | ~1.5% |
| Earn ceiling 5,000 Membership Rewards Points per calendar month; at 5 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,00,000 of eligible spend vs 6,000 EDGE Reward Points per month; at 7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹80,000 of eligible spend | 5,000 Membership Rewards Points per calendar month at 5 Membership Rewards Points / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹1,00,000 of eligible spend | 6,000 EDGE Reward Points per month at 7.5 EDGE Reward Points / ₹100, this lane reaches the cap at ₹80,000 of eligible spend |
| Insurance — Air accident cover Only available for American Express Platinum Charge Card | ₹5 crore | Not specified |
| Insurance — Underwriter Only available for American Express Platinum Charge Card | Insured by ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Limited | Not specified |
Notes
- Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.
American Express Platinum Charge Card
Verify with issuer , opens external siteAxis Bank Burgundy Private
Verify with issuer , opens external site