Pairwise comparison Compare 3+ cards →

AXIS Primus vs IDFC FIRST Private

Side-by-side comparison of the Axis Bank Primus and the IDFC FIRST Bank Private. Verify fees, lounge access, forex markup, and base rewards before you apply.

Primus
Private

The short answer

Pick Private for a lower fee.

Private costs ₹2,75,000 less a year.

Head-to-head

  • Annual fee Annual fee outcome: Private wins.
    Primus ₹3,00,000 Annual-fee waiver not offered
    Private ₹25,000 Annual-fee waiver not offered
    Private saves ₹2,75,000/yr
  • Forex markup Forex markup outcome: tie.
    Primus 0%
    Private 0%
  • Domestic lounge Domestic lounge outcome: tie.
    Primus Unlimited
    Private Unlimited
  • Rewards Rewards outcome: insufficient data to compare.
    Primus Not safely INR-comparable
    Private ~1.7%
    conservative base value
    Primus: Strong data Private: Strong data

Reward earning explained

Primus

1 EDGE Miles / ₹100

Strong data
Private

10 pts / ₹150 on domestic spend

Strong data

Example usage at this monthly spend

At ₹50k/month spend:

  • IDFC FIRST Private: ~₹830/month at base rate
  • Primus: Base earn not clearly specified

Illustrative only, using current base rates before caps.

All fields

Field Primus Axis Bank Private IDFC FIRST Bank
Lounge Access
Domestic lounge visits Unlimited Unlimited
International lounge visits Unlimited Unlimited
Forex / International Use
Forex markup 0% 0%
Fees
Recurring annual fee
₹3,00,000 vs ₹25,000
₹3,00,000 ₹25,000
Annual-fee waiver Not offered Not offered
Interest-free period
Up to 50 days vs Up to 45 days
Up to 50 days Up to 45 days
Monthly interest rate
1% / month vs 0.75% / month
1% / month 0.75% / month
Fuel benefit
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹10,000 transactions vs 1% surcharge waiver · ₹200–₹5,000 transactions
1% surcharge waiver · ₹400–₹10,000 transactions 1% surcharge waiver · ₹200–₹5,000 transactions
Rewards
Base earn
1 EDGE Miles / ₹100 vs 10 pts / ₹150 on domestic spend
1 EDGE Miles / ₹100 10 pts / ₹150 on domestic spend
Conservative base value
Not safely INR-comparable vs ~1.7%
Not safely INR-comparable ~1.7%
Earn ceiling Not stated Not stated
Point value (headline channel)
Issuer headline redemption rate — see each card page for the full channel grid.
Only available for IDFC FIRST Private
Not specified ₹0.25
Point validity
Only available for IDFC FIRST Private
Not specified 2 years
Insurance — Air accident cover
Only available for IDFC FIRST Private
Not specified ₹2.5 crore
Insurance — Personal accident cover
Only available for IDFC FIRST Private
Not specified ₹10 lakh
Insurance — Lost card liability cover
Only available for IDFC FIRST Private
Not specified ₹5 lakh
Insurance — Underwriter
Only available for IDFC FIRST Private
Not specified Insured by New India Assurance

Notes

  • Card benefits change frequently. Always verify current terms on the issuer's official website or app before applying.